Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The last day of freedom

It's the last day of my holiday. I won't say that I'm happy about it. :(

Why didn't I book off Thursday and Friday? I suppose I could go in tomorrow and promptly ask my boss if I could go home. (He'd say yes, undoubtedly.)

But that would look weird, and I don't want to look weird. :)


Ah sigh.

SO back to work.

I'm rather disappointed with myself as I stayed up REALLY late last night again, leaving half of today gone. There's always that pesky tradeoff. :)

I was obsessively correcting the awful sweater that I am finishing.

Well, it is not awful. But as I mentioned, the construction is weird. Last night I picked apart the stitching (not easy with knitting) of the collar up the left side of the cardigan, and finally resewed it in a way that looks seamless and good. I'll sew the buttons on the the band today, knit the buttonhole band and sew it again as devised, and then the silly thing will finally be done. I'm going to stick to more traditional knitting techniques from now on.

There's a reason, um, that certain techniques are...traditional. Thousands of ladies who spent their lives slaving away in home economics activities tell me so.

I suppose that I should try to keep this brief. I have a desire to go out to the local fair trade coffee shop that is my favourite. I have a more urgent need than usual in that I am completely out of coffee. :)

There are a few observations that I would like to write down today, but perhaps I'll save them for this evening.

The only thing I'd like to note right now whilst it's on my mind is that I have landlord love problems again.

Ze landlord gave me chocolates, caramels and a book of Rimbaud for Christmas.

This is all fine in and of itself. Normally I would have bought him a selection of cheese and a bottle of, say, Pin3au des Charentes (made near his village in France). But you see there is a problem this year, batman.

Ze landlord, he has the gout.

He's even been hospitalized recently, and he's on a bunch of medication. He looks dreadful! Every time I visit him - which is not that often, but I drop in to say hi - he groans about his misery.

I can appreciate this. So change your diet, you stubborn Frenchman! :)

I'm joking. I do feel for him. My university boyfriend's dad had the gout.

When I think of gout I always think of 19th century novels that I used to read when I was a little girl scavenging a small town public library.

Anyhow. So I could NOT for the life of me figure out what to get him for Christmas. THe only other thing that I KNOW that he loves is music (given that he is a retired professional violinist). He also likes art films.
So I decided, finally, to write him a card offering to take him to a concert of his choosing.

Good lord I just hope he doesn't try to touch me again. I might just have a freak out at the N@tional Arts C3ntre.

I know, I should have offered to shovel his snow or something. I would have done that, only I believe that he pays the guy downstairs to do that.

Oh well. I will survive one evening. I figured that in the minimum I would get some enjoyment out of going to a concert with someone who knows music.

OK. Cheerio.

Incidentally, I am still sitting here trying to visualize the red velvet sofa and perhaps another little armchair in the space. The sofa has the great advantage of being orderable online. The only thing holding me back is that I had settled on an I'm not buying anything regime . How to break that one.:)

A couple of pictures from my trip to New York last year coming in a few minutes...They're not your typical pictures of NYC, just pictures that flash up on my screen from time to time and remind me of the charm of the place.

...

...

...

...

...

...

...

|

1:05 p.m. - 2008-01-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08