Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Mild headache, full of wheeziness

Commencing the year in full awareness, alertness:

I came across this delightful note online, that was sent to Pr0ust:

My dear friend, I may be dense, but I fail to see why a chap needs thirty pages to describe how he tosses and turns in bed before sleep.

-Alfr3d Humb0ldt, Oll3ndorf publishing house

***

I'm having a sofa moment! I'm looking at the IK3A sofas online in planning my trip out there in the next couple of days, thanks to teranika's heads up that the sofa that I want is on sale! The problem is that at this moment I so desperately want to buy a red velvet one instead of the intended classic dark grey one.

I'm sure this will pass. (cringe)

Well I hope so.

Perhaps it's a New Year's Day thing.

C. and I just returned from breakfast. He surprised me by calling me up to see if I wanted to go out for a brunch at a diner I rather like. I haven't been there more than once since Larry and I broke up. It was nice. I've always liked going out for a bite on a holiday. The place was full of good cheer and we struck up a nice conversation with a pleasant elderly lady sitting in the next booth.

I do wish that I could find myself some elderly ladies such as this to have tea or brunch with. I simply hate to see elderly ladies eating alone. I mean, sometimes they likely desire it. But I'd be happy to have a companion sometimes and I imagine that there are a few ladies out there who could also use some company. Perhaps I'll meet some at the literary events I'm planning to attend.

That was an aside.

We had a lovely brunch, then on the way home I picked up a copy of Sn0w Cake, a movie I rather like (with Al@n R!ckman and Sigo-rn3y Weav3r). It's a low budget Canadian thing, but it's rather good overall, in spite of a slow start. C. and I watched it at the repertory cinema on Christmas eve '06. How the time flies.

Last night was rather funny. I was feeling quite good all day and then when the evening dawned and Dan had not called and the poet scientist had not called (no doubt his girlfriend decided that I should not be invited to the party), I felt a little bit lonely. I tried to shake it off. C. was still working and then planning to perhaps go to a little party with his work cohort. I was OK with that. Still, I felt a little bit sad. And it was my own fault, because I have not called Ava and K3n at all, and I am sure that they do not even know that I am in town, and I surely could have called up my Czech friend as he was undoubtedly alone with his friend Ang3lo. I have no one to blame but myself.

But then, C. called up at 10 to say that the work cohort's plans had included rather young partying that didn't interest him and could he come over? Sure, I said.

Perhaps I've mentioned that C. is always late. ALWAYS.

We had agreed that I would go for a little run along the canal, that he would call his brother in Chicago, and then that he and I would meet up at my place at 11.

So 11 passed by. I had some cheese and crackers out, had rearranged the chairs around the tv, put on my sparkly earrings from last year's NY to "un-Larry" them (if you're going to have an impromptu party...and besides, they go very nicely with running tights and grey hoodie, if I do say so myself :)), and waited.

Fri3d Gre3n Tomatoes was on tv, so I didn't mind. I definitely have a soft spot for that film and I haven't watched it in years.

So at 11:56 I'm thinking OH C. So typical.

C. coasted in at 11:58. We scrambled to find Nath@n Phillips Square on tv and heard the countdown. The end.

Oh silly C.

We then proceeded to watch the M@trix on tv, have a long conversation about a bunch of stuff, and get too little sleep. It was still fun, if rather hastily put together as a NY celebration. :)

My friend.

Anyhow. THe thing is though that I woke up this morning with asthma trouble. This is a real problem as I noticed about a month ago that I had somehow managed to lose my inhaler. Obviously, I don't use it very often these days. I typically keep it in one of the front pockets of my knapsack, however, just in case I get wheezy as a result of some allergen to which I am exposed. I think that perhaps it fell out one day when a pouch was improperly closed and I was on my bicycle.

Oh well.

The point of this little blurb is that I REALLY don't want to spend today sitting in a clinic waiting to see a doctor. Yawn. So I hope it passes. I've been coughing a lot and my bronchs seem to be trying to clear, so hopefully they'll continue to work their magic. Coffee should help, too.

Oh the trials of living in a body. :)

Oh well, off I go to listen to Ella and read my Christmas book from C: G3orges Seur@t, The Dr@wings. :) Lovely. It's snowing and the light is clear and crisp and bright.

Just imagine a red velvet sofa! (I'd certainly have to nix the yellow curtains, although a certain mix of gold and red can be nice). :)

I hope I'm joking.

I mean this colour scheme, particularly since I have that big antique mirror with the gold frame.

I know, the red is more pink, or at least of a burnished pinky, painted wood or brick sort of variety, but still... :)) Dark grey with red pillows and yellow curtains is a MUCH better choice, particularly since I already have the grey pull-out bed chair. I'm going to have to sit on my hands on this one. :) It strikes me that I am the type of person who could spontaneously run to Vegas on a whim and get married, and then repent the next day. Not a good thing. Red sofa bad. bad. bad. This is not Ron@ld McDon@ld's playhouse. I'd be better off going with a neutral like cream. But then again, take a look at the parasol that I bought in Japan, and have in my bedroom. I kind of have an obsession with this colour scheme (although the yellow is more wheat here). Oh yeah, and decorating one's bedroom with a road bike (as one does). :)

I know, I haven't even yet pursuaded myself...

|

1:53 p.m. - 2008-01-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08