Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Me advance-rejecting IronDude

I just wrote a long rant-y piece about athletes and athletics, and when I reread it it smacked more of bitterness than of frustration so I deleted it. I suppose in some ways athletics is still a tender subject, my relationship to which I have not quite yet successfully negotiated. So I've deleted most of it and left the following few paragraphs.

I know, I'm fickle, but I've already had second thoughts about super Iron Dude. Just as with multiple choice, I think you should go with your gut instinct.

I don't want to date a guy who puts athletics first in his life. Been there, done that. Not interested. So far I know that the guy did the Hawaii IronM@n this year and then "ran the New York M@rathon just for fun." (And he told me that he did all of this casually, keeping balance in his life...)

I'm sure he's a great guy. I'll have a coffee with him. What I want to date, however, is a guy who does some athletic stuff and who prioritizes other interests ahead of sports. I really think that for my next boyfriend I want more of an intellectual type, who can raise the level of conversation for me, teach me interesting things about art, literature, science, whatever.

The reason that I suspect that this guy won't be such a guy is that in a large number of emails now he hasn't told me a thing about his career or his hobbies outside of athletics. Not a thing. He furthermore mentioned in passing that all of the women he'd be interested in dating - all part of the local club athletic community - were dating his friends.

I want to break free of the athletic community - with their obsession with measurement and gear and comparison of performances. It's just not me.

Honestly, what I want to find is a guy who is more of a mountain man type on the weekends, professor of literature by day. He likes to canoe and can portage a long way and hike for a day, but he never measures how fast he was going or how high he believes his fitness to be. He's enjoying life, feeling good, enjoying being healthy and young.

That's it. Phew. I feel a bit lighter now. I really know that an IronM@n guy and his pals are not the group for me. They may be perfectly lovely people but I am not an athletic person in my heart, not in any way. I really just want to feel good, feel alive. That was always why I ran, even when I was trying to be good. That can be done in so many ways...

Yesterday I ran up to the lake. They'd already cleared the snow from the most recent snowfall, so I had to run the entire 5k to the lake on pavement. I hate that. So I ran into the arboretum, ran through the snowbanks for two kms, ran back. It was fantastic! I love nothing more than running in snow. I must have been a Golden Retriever in a past life. And of course I did at one point have one of those Proustian moments of memory of the speed with which I used to run, whilst in the pine trees (pine trees are my madeleine?), and of extending that instant to wanting to train hard and compete again. Harumph.

Incidentally, here is a picture or two of my dead Golden, Brodie. I miss him so much. I've never loved a dog as much as I did that one.

|

11:16 a.m. - 2007-12-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08