Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

turkey fat and dating turkeys :)

OH good grief that was a stodgy entry. So I need to replace it.

I've been making turkey stock today. C. loves any kind of poultry soup. He's going to drop by when he's finished with his dissertation work at the office.

But now that the stock is done I need to cool it in time so that I can skim at least SOME of the fat from it, so that we will not get into our yearly argument about how the fat is where all the flavour sits.

I KNOW. But not all of it is required. I want your heart to continue beating until next year.

You know, in writing this I'm realizing that I totally do not need to be married. Or at least if I ever get married I'll realize that I have PLENTY of experience at it.

If I get more adept at shopping and then concealing my purchases without anyone noticing I'll truly be prepared for the married state.

I'm just kidding. :)

Actually, I have decided that 2008 will be the year of no shopping.

Well, no shopping is too challenging and not fruitful. I need to buy a sofa at least, and possibly some cross-country skiis if I decide to splurge. But otherwise it's going to be the year of chilling out, recycling all of the things that I already have in my house, my closet, using the public library, knitting and reknitting sweaters with yarn that I already have.

The thing is that I know that I'm most happy when I focus on what really matters, when I'm not distracted by making an impression on anyone, trying to prove myself in one way or another. And buying clothes for me has sometimes been a way of filling that empty place in my heart, as I've mentioned before. I just don't need to do that anymore.

So on to the dating arena. I went into the dating site a couple of days ago to figure out whether I wanted to simply hide or fully delete my profile, and whilst on I received an interesting note from quite a nice man.

It seems he felt he had seen me running with a friend in the summer and that I'd smiled at him.

And the odd thing was that I think I remembered that particular incident. I mean, I always smile at people who run by me. In fact, I smile at people in general, so this is not odd.

When I'm running serious running men often take particular notice of me because I am running at a faster pace than most people, most of the time. On this particular occasion C. was with me, and as usual I was chatting away. The gentleman remarked on this.

Anyhow. Perhaps he was referring to someone else and not to me, but he said something to the effect of "this woman smiled at me and her smile was priceless," so how could I tell him to shove off? :)

As we began to chat a bit, however, he sent me some pictures and good grief rude awakening. This guy not only competes in IronM@n triathlons but WINS them.

Honestly, I had to struggle to resist telling this guy that I think he is NUTS.

He's 46, by the way. And he's apparently a scientist of some kind, although he still hasn't furnished me with any information as to of what stripe.

I mean, I like athletics as much as the next person, but spending your life doing the amount of training required to compete in a six to eight hour endurance event like that (not to mention to win one) is...not something that I want to be enduring in someone I'm dating, or doing myself when I am in my late 40s.

So I gently said something to the guy to the effect of "Wow! I've never understood how someone can do that much training. You must be a true A-type. I'm afraid I can't come close to that."

I of course couched this in a comment about how "A-type" is not necessarily perjorative, i.e. that intense types are needed to accomplish lots of things in this world, it's just that I'm not one of them.

And the guy proceeded to tell me that he's "way too balanced to be an A-type."

Credible?

I think not.

In my view it follows immediately that someone who wins IronM@n triathlons is the epitome of imbalance.

That is unless he has the heart of K!ng Kong, the endurance of Atl@s, and the sleep habits of Don@ld Trump.

Naaaahhhh. Not buying it.

I'm never again going to go on a date, am I?

I have an excuse as to why I can't date ANYONE.

I'm hoping at least that this one was reasonable. I do not want to be hiding in the bushes to pass my husband gel packs on his eight hour Sunday runs.

UGH. Spare me, please.

I'm looking for a guy who likes to jog a bit, can handle a bicycle and a backpack, who looks forward and not backwards, and who has a superior knowledge of poetry. The willingness to teach me interesting things about his profession - in science or the arts or whatever - would be fantastic. Add in great conversation, an excellent vocabulary and a world class wink and I'm sold. WHERE ARE YOU???

|

7:07 p.m. - 2007-12-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08