Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Baking shortbread

OK, well, burning shortbread.

Doh! I always forget.

Most are salvageable.

Oh if only I could spend all day, every day reading. "Refreshing though it is to see punctuation at the center of a national debate..." Interesting.

So I thought I'd post a couple of pictures of the great storm, as it is now, at dusk, on my street. The first few are pictures that I took at dusk yesterday, as I liked the light. Really, I wanted to show my tree more favourably situated. :)



I did not go out at all today, most particularly to the poetry reading as I had planned. I'm thinking that because of the snow the poetry reading was probably canceled. I will hope that that was the case - I'm keen to soldier on in "Bluey's quest to put herself out there and possibly get a date either before or soon after New Year's Eve!"

Anyhow.

I was thinking about one thing from the party last night that I haven't yet mentioned. (And I'll leave the story of the inspiring guy who has managed to far exceed doctors' expectations for his life following his severe brain injury to another day, I think.) There was a girl there whom I'd met at the brunch and who is rather sweet. She moved out here from Newfoundland a year ago, to live with her boyfriend. I could mention many interesting things about her - I greatly enjoyed my conversation with her and with her beau last night, as did C. - but the thing that struck me so fully was a tender description that she gave of a choral performance she had gone to see.

Clearly, and self-admittedly, she has no knowledge of music. Which is why her description of what she was hearing the voices do and how she felt as she heard the various voices enter and leave the music was so fresh and poignant. I was left remembering that sometimes I don't listen carefullly enough, that so often I forget to truly appreciate the wonderful gift of exposure to so many things that I have had in my life. Her enjoyment so pure and sincere. I felt the chills up the spine along with her. I need to pay more attention to things.

OK. I should go. The shortbread is actually inedible, which I discovered by...eating one. Eew.

I think that's it. I need to make a Christmas list of things yet to do and to be done this week, and otherwise prepare to not be depressed before work commences again tomorrow. Did I happen to mention that I will have most of next week off? I'm basically taking from the 25th to the 2nd off, since, really, what the heck am I going to be doing with none of my colleagues around???

:)

I live in wait for the break. I do wish I had plans for it though, e.g. spinning or something to go to. I'm a little bit disappointed that there will likely be no new people to meet. :(

Oh well!

Incidentally, I'm thinking of buying this dress, only in black. What do you think? It's on sale in a couple of places but I'm not sure. Could be classic, and it's wool, which I like. I'd likely wear it for ten years. Although in a way it's unnecessary, as I have the perfect black pencil skirt which I wore last night, with a sleek velvet top that made the ensemble look a bit like a black sheath. (The top I bought in 1997 or 1998, since I wore it when I was with S.-how's that for recycling clothing?!?) :) I like the idea of a multi-occasion dress though, and the v in the back is pretty (or front, as the situation might allow).

OK. M@rtha St3wart, or rather the 18 organic, local pumpkins sitting on my countertop, are compelling me to go and make harvest pumpkin soup. :)

|

6:17 p.m. - 2007-12-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08