Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm really, really happy that I made the choice to try the cycling class.

I love the idea of a quiet Christmas alone now. Thanks, guys, for reminding me that I am always my own best date.

So this morning was AWESOME!

I went to the spinning/endurance cycling training class. I walked in and...there were actual athletes there.

I mean, not elite athletes, probably, but recreational athletes who were there to have a good time AND to train. And there were no egos.

It was fantastic.

The split was actually more even between men and women than I'd anticipated, and there were a few couples among them. (I should not be surprised - what a good thing to do as a couple on a Sat. morning...hopefully next year that will be me!) A couple of the women had outstandingly fit physiques - just stunning, muscular, strong.

I felt so HAPPY to be there. I was probably the least fit person there, which is such a new thing for me. And I certainly was the least experienced cyclist. WOW! It was awesome. I love to be a beginner sometimes.

And the true happiness came from feeling that I've found my next sport. It's perfect for me - people around my age, fun, pleasant; there's the potential to train outside for long periods of time in other parts of the year.

And not to harp on this, but I love the bodies. No skinny minnies there, as in running circles. The women were strong and gorgeous though lean, with muscular butts and thighs. The two men in front of me had the most AWESOME calves (not to mention everything else...). Now that's something to watch as you train! When we were side planking to do our core strengthening at the end of the class I could not help but check out the one guy. WHat a body.

Shallow, yes. But it reminded me of when I first became attracted to the ex-fiance (the last major bullet that I dodged ;-)). I know that I've written about this before. The memory is so strongly imprinted on me that it sends shivers down my spine and can utterly pull me back to my shiny tracksuit that made noise when I walked and the nervous energy that was vibrating through my body that day. I was racing for Canada and he was racing for Australia just outside of Tokyo- him much, much better than me; I was scared to death that I would pull our team down - and I saw him up on the jumbotron as he was leading the men's race in the first leg. (I was running later.) I watched those legs, the sinew, the intense focus of him as he kept ahead of his pursuers and thought, "This guy really likes me. He is one of the best in his sport in the entire world. And now I actually find him attractive."

It was so seductive.

Anyhow. That was a nice moment in time. Let's not think about the ending. I don't care much about what a person's body looks like (brains, personality are the critical things for dating)...but I will admit to being attracted to very fit bodies just from the artistic angle of things. Call them a bonus, if you will. :)

The additional great part of the class, of course, is that I'm building a good base for spring and should be ready to take up riding with a club in the spring.

THe bad part is that my LEGS WERE SO WOBBLY when I finished up today and started to run home, and today's class was only 1h45 plus core work, whilst next week's will be 2h00 with a 15-minute time trial plus a 5k run after the 2h.

EEK! Oh and I forgot to mention that I did the entire class without padded shorts...ouch ouch ouch ouch ouch. Some *things* were hurting after about an hour. ahem. Must. buy. shorts.

I'm going to bootcamp.

It's good though.

I feel like I'm reclaiming a part of myself, or maybe claiming a brand new part. It's such a positive move.

Now if only I could find something nice and artistic to do during the week as well, I'd feel that I had it all. I suppose I could set myself up to draw from memory the bodies of the people in the class, but then that would be...creepy. Actually when I draw I prefer more curvy than athletic bodies...hmmm...Well actually, I like all kinds. I drew a very thin man once and found myself fascinated with his form. WHo knws. No rhyme or reason.

Must. EAT. Falling off chair faint.

|

1:23 p.m. - 2007-12-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08