Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Interesting but WAYYYYY too short weekend.

Very loose, unconnected thoughts.

I really need to start cooking like Fifi! Delicious!

I did not buy the sofa this weekend, simply because C. was not up for car rental and shopping. Hopefully next weekend. I can't wait.

At the ladies' brunch this morning in Marion's cozy, well-appointed apartment I felt the depth of the grottery of my apartment. I really do need to begin growing up and un-student-ing my accommodations.

At least that will distract me from thinking about my job.

THere was a lovely girl - with whom I am on the same wavelength -at the brunch today, and it was very cool to commisserate over job hatred and honouring our true selves, etc., etc. DIfficult to explain, but trust me she and I are VERY similar. We made this mistake re. the job change for the same reason. Hers happened only two weeks before mine. We're similarly afflicted in SOOOO many ways. But the thing that caught her attention and caused us to click is that when I arrived to a group of women I didn't know I was telling them about Pina Bausch and then mentioned that I am trying - one step at a time - to focus my life OUTSIDE of work, given that I've made a difficult job change. I said that although I'm unhappy I suspect that this experience could represent an important catalyst in helping me to break damaging/limiting habits. Too much to strangers before brunch? ;-) Maybe. But they're all friends of Marion's and so I believe kindred spirits. And never let it be said that I keep any pretenses... :)

Anyhow. I flashed too far forward.

Friday night was the Danish movie, of course. I've already written about that. But I forgot to write two things. I realized after the movie that I indeed have had a bad sinus infection all week (my face has been strained and tired, my head sore), as I could not SMELL a thing. The three guys with whom I was watching the movie all complained about the horror that was the gas of the pleasant old gentleman who was sitting directly behind me...and I had not noticed it!

Small mercies, I guess...

Also at the movie was the funniest character. Just before the movie had started, and after our group had finished a brief conversation with the pleasant darby and joan behind us, a guy came in in cycling gear. He sat in the seat behind C. and the pleasant couple naturally started talking to him. I didn't hear much but I did hear, "I'm a professor of Christian Sci3ence."

So anyhow. The movie was a movie called Ad@m's Appl3s. If you haven't heard anything about it I will tell you that the basic point of the movie is to run roughshod over political correctness. Although touching on extremely, extremely dark subjects, it does so with a light touch and is sometimes amusing.

Amusing excuses laughter, of course. I laughed a bit myself. But the Christian Sci3nce dude...Well, he laughed throughout the film.

At first I thought I was hearing something: laughter, laughter...is it one guy, two...three?

Hmmm...Seems to be coming from behind me.

It's him! And he's not stopping!

It was crazy!

Perhaps one needs to laugh to ward off evil forces or something?

I mean, I wasn't offended. But after a while I just couldn't believe it (especially in the incest section) and I had to supress a giggle to keep from laughing AT him. My eyebrows nearly popped up and off of my head...

Odd stuff.

OHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH! How could I forget?

Last night was P!na B@usch. OMG EXQUISITE. I loved it. It was outstanding. I was in awe.

And C. and I almost didn't get to go as the box office had lost my reservation. I had made it at the time of buying my ballet subscription and I suspect that there is something wrong with their web service. I persisted and insisted that the charge had gone through on my credit card, and finally the snotty girl in the office agreed to look at my card. Sure enough, there had been a charge, alhough they couldn't associate it with any particular show. There were orchestra seats listed, however (O1, O3), but no date or performance! How irksome.

SO anyhow, and I wasn't trying to be a pain, but finally the manager came out and *gave* me two orchestra seats for the performance. They made me feel badly about it, even though I am quite sure about the order that I placed. I am not silly. ANd sure enough, as C. and I were sitting off in the wings in seats K45, K47...we could see that the centre orchestra seats O1 and O3...were among the few empty in the entire house.

Only in Canada, sometimes I think.

ARGH.

BUt at least we got to see the performance.

It was outstanding. And 3 hours long. Definite value for money. I will write a bit about it later. Highly recommended.

OK. That's about it. I need to go out and do some errands and then unfortunately do some stinky work. Perhaps after a run. I wish I felt comfortable calling in sick. I really don't want to go to work. But I must. :(

|

4:42 p.m. - 2007-11-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08