Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Saturday in the grey and drear with the window open and the rain persistently descending

It is grey and raining cats and dogs today!

As I'm sitting here I can hear the sound of the dryer rumbling as I take the heavy moisture out of my laundry before I hang it to dry.

I thought I'd awakened early today but it turned out to be after 9 a.m. I think I was in mid-dream, although I can't remember any of them.

It's somewhat sad that at the great age of 37 I spend my weekends recovering physically from working 55-60 hour weeks!

Not good! Not good at all!

Let's hope that my Line Dance job furnishes more reasonable working conditions.

Just out of interest, I'll tell you with amazement that my new job is only a 10-15 minute walk from my apartment. I never quite thought that this would be true. My life in terms of its most mundane, mechanical aspects is rolling out quite nicely, thank you. :)

SO on to the more interesting stuff.

There is no more interesting stuff!

I'm in nesting mode again today. I'm going to finally go out and get those socks and a couple of colourful "going out" tops at the mall and then I am going to come home and read. (Apart from the pink top that I was wearing in the photos of last week, I have only black or dark brown "going out" tops, if you can believe it. And this is simply wrong, wrong, wrong. I am no longer the girl who suits black! I am no longer steadily in need of being sombre, or of blending into the background. I'm also going to buy a dress this Christmas, that will not be black. I think that perhaps it will be peacock blue, or a lovely deep green. Or perhaps even pink. at any rate, it will not be black.)

I did, I must admit, have a date scheduled for tonight that I have canceled. He seems like a nice enough guy but was such a wet noodle about setting a date that I woke up feeling unenthused. I know, I should not write things off so easily. It's rather defeatest of me.

:)

No progress was made with baldy. (And I hope that it does not sound derogatory for me to call him this - I think he's adorable but the name just fell into place a week or so ago.)

I saw him yesterday but I was walking with B and B and I were talking and there was not a second to make prolonged eye contact.

Ah, work to be done!

:)

That's about it. I have a truly uninspiring weekend planned. I'm going to read. I'm going to eat. I'm going to walk probably, once the rain stops.

I'm now enjoying a nice cup of coffee and the newspaper, and if I'm totally honest some chocolate too! :) (Chocolate in my mind is a new breakfast food group! ;))

A couple of days ago I received in the mail the following DVDs: Emma (K@te B3ckins@le version), The L!ves of Oth3rs, and P3rsuasion (1995 version with Amanda R00t and Ci@ran H!nds).

I have a small DVD collection but I've realized that the complete Jane Austen series is absolutely required for evenings on which unadulterated relaxation is required.

I have seen these movies over and over again, it is true.

I read a newspaper article a few weeks ago that bemoaned the fact that there are all sorts of attractive, intelligent, capable middle-aged women sitting at home reading and watching Jane Aust3n. The idea of the article is that men are intimidated by the accomplishments and so on of these women and so they get left on the shelf.

It kind of made me laugh. Most obviously it made me laugh because of course I believe that I am eligible and interesting and would make a good partner for someone. It also made me laugh because I do indeed get comfort and gentle amusement and warm happiness from a stable of favourites that consists of mostly Jane Austen and EM Forster and Somerset Maugham novels and their related film versions. Add in a few Spanish, French, German and Italian films: The S3a Ins!de, My Moth3r's Castle, My Fath3r's Glory, Mostly M@rtha, Schultz3 Gets the Blu3s, etc., etc. and you have a good idea of my basic "comfort archive."

I do not apologize for this. If I believe anything solidly in life from my recent struggle to learn what is right and true... it is that you are mandated by the universe to be gentle with yourself. :)

OK. Time to hang the laundry. I should probably make some eggs. I have SOOOOOO many eggs. On Wednesday I went to the supermarket and bought a nice carton of organic eggs...and then promptly dropped them on the ground and broke 2/3 of them as I loaded up my bicycle with my groceries. :( C. then bought me a new carton on his way home yesterday, so as a result I have HEAP of eggs.

Who cares about my cholesterol?. One of my favourite things since I was a little girl has been a boiled "dippy" egg with buttered toast strips. Divine. :)


|

11:43 a.m. - 2007-10-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08