Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

So today was a good and bad day.

I'm having difficulty restraining myself in my French class. I've discovered that I am either way ahead of pretty much everyone in the class or the rest of them are mostly stupid, because they can't even seem to catch on to the simplest things.

This leaves me impatient and wanting to speak. So I speak too much. And then I realize that I am speaking too much and totally clam up. It's an uncomfortable detente.

But, really, at this level the woman beside me should be able to recognize and pronounce the infinitive of regular verbs!!

The problem I'm told is that in government-land they don't actually require you to pass the tests in each course before they bump you to the next level, so this woman keeps on getting bumped in spite of being hopelessly unknowledgeable.

Anyhow. I will not complain. I will plod on.

And then my boss boss called me into her office today. And I mean my boss boss - the head of the whole directorate. And I don't exaggerate when I say that this person is a bit unhinged. She's a person in power who should not be in power. She's evil.

My friend down the row calls her "The Potato," which nearly makes me roll on the floor laughing. She is so not a potato - she's red-faced, angry, loud, and volatile. The thing that I dislike the most about her is that she fakes interest and caring in people - her poor admin assistant has only a few months to retirement and at times she thinks that she won't make it, she suffers so much abuse. Shiver.

(Sadly, the potato conversation with my friend is also linked to a horribly evocative one in which he discussed how disgusted he is at thinking of this woman having sex, and in which he repeated the squealing noises that she makes when she is demanding something totally unreasonable from her staff. You get the picture.)

Don't get the picture from this that I don't like and support women in power. That's not the case at all. My first boss ever in government was a woman and she was a super star. I was so proud and honoured to be on her team. She had more balls than most men. She's now an ambassador. She totally rocks.

I've been told, too, that there are other awesome female bosses, even in my department, but my most recent one and this "big boss" are pretty much the two worst.

Apparently at least one of them is on the way out, so that is good...for someone.

Perhaps not for me. I'm thinking of going to Line Dance.

Speaking of Line Dance, the guy didn't have time to speak today so it seems that we will speak on Monday. This brief hiatus has given me time and space to think - albeit without information - but to clear my head and be sure about what I want.

I bought new lights and a bell for my bike today. Good, non? :)

AH I'm weary. It seems that my sinuses are clogged again. I suppose that other than that I really have little to complain about. I feel as though there should be more.

Well, that's it. Boring, I know. But there is nothing else to be said.

|

7:27 p.m. - 2007-10-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08