Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Taking so much for granted...

IN my third short entry for today, I'm going to make a confession.

It's election night in Ont@ri@ri@rio.

And do you know what I did? I mapquested my polling booth to see if it was sufficiently close for me to go to it.

I mean, I probably would have gone out of guilt in any event. But I actually m@pquested my booth hoping that it would be nearby (and opening the debate of not going if it was not--oh the shame! the shame!). And it was.

Phew. The 1/4 mile to the church around the corner was walked! And the voting done! I'm such a fine specimen of citizenry. Polling station 23. And there was an overzealous polling booth traffic person who nearly pounced on me as I came in the door to direct me to my little paper box. <> (I don't like it when they call me "ma'am". ;)

And then I took a little walk around the block to get some air--I'm still feeling queasy, for some reason--and discovered that there is another polling booth on my street. It's like the government spent a fortune to ensure *some* voter turnout.

The sad state of democracy these days.

And I'm as big of a slug as the rest.

Sort of.

I did vote. And I voted for electoral reform, too. Felt good, that.

|

9:35 p.m. - 2007-10-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08