Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which I try to convince you in one breath that I am both not ignorant and profoundly ignorant...

PS I do hope that you guys don't think by what I wrote that I think that Brussels is in Germany. :) I think he might be German but he said that he just moved from Brussels so I suspect that he's been working for the E_ in competition law. The pieces fit together. I never like to ask guys too many questions over email--seems too much like an interview or a checklist that I am ticking off.

In other news, those L!ne D@nce guys move fast. They found out that I qualified for the economics leadership program this year so now they are really interested. (I qualified for the program but Claus thinks that I was not ranked in the top group as he thinks they do some screening on the basis of age--he's the oldest in this year's intake by far and he is 4 years younger than I am. I think it's because I had a panic attack right before my interview and babbled nonsensically on a question about fiscal equalization--the story of my life). They want me in for a second interview tomorrow.

So that I can demonstrate to them how patently dumb I am about the mechanics of tax.

:)

And let me tell you, before I depart, one additional interesting tidbit about this guy who has contacted me: He is exactly one year older than I am, i.e. not some 54-year-old guy like most of them who open up with the line, "Everyone tells me that I look younger than I am."

This is a BIIIIIIIG pet peeve of mine. I'm polite about it. But my neighbour at work always says that I should simply reply, "I don't care how old you look. I'm firmly convinced that you have more saggy bits than I am ready for."

Seriously, I would never reply in that way. And to be honest, it's really the discrepancies in finances and in commitments and in attitudes that in general makes much older men unappealing to me.

Oh yeah, and the fact that I was sexually harrassed by my two first bosses at the Department of Dist@nt Ill!cit Rel@tionships (how appropriate a name, that), who were each old enough to be my dad.

Enough!

OH and may I post a little bit of what the guy wrote to me: "Perhaps we rather meet somewhere more romantic and make a painting together. ___ would be fine, even though I may be somewhat jet lagged. Somewhere around 5:30 in the market area, e.g. in front of our favourite store La Bott3ga Nic@stro Fine Foods??? Did I tell you that I finished my PhD in Economics and my fastest marathon was 1h35 minutes (on rollerblades in Berlin). Hope to hear from you. Very much looking forward to meeting the fastest girl in town."

It's very amusing in light of the fact that I have never mentioned that particular food store--though it is my second favourite in the market after the Budap3st deli (smells SOOOOOOOOOO good, and you can get real W3stph@lian sch!nken and Belgian chocolate and grind your own freshly roasted fair trade coffee). At the same time, I tend to be suspicious of smooth and flirty guys, so the attenae are up. I do indeed hope that this guy has a point, T.

A question: What do you do when a guy sends you a picture of himself standing in front of a sign that says "24 hour bail bonds," in a yellow t-shirt and neon turquoise socks and shorts? You laugh hysterically, of course. But given that he calls himself active and yet he has just about the largest pot belly you've ever seen...do you date him?? ;)

|

7:27 p.m. - 2007-10-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08