Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I ate watermelon and flax bread for dinner tonight.

OK. I'm going to say two catty things. Please forgive me.

A new woman showed up to my French class this morning who was ENORMOUSLY annoying. She was the kind of chirpy, aggressively talk-y person who dominates every conversation. I desperately wanted her to be quiet. She was nice enough, but...

And a second woman showed up to my French class this morning who was wearing...get this...in her hair...a FUR scrunchie.


A FUR SCRUNCHIE!

It was 28 degrees C today!


I did not know that there existed such a thing as a fur scrunchie!

Very amusing. She seemed like a nice woman. But I couldn't stop staring at the raccoon that had seemingly curled up and died on the back of her ponytail.

:)

I am SOOOOOOO looking forward to the evening at S's tomorrow. We're going to cook. He writes to me every day.

And every day it is super-charming.

He's lovely.

The dilemma is as follows: I am totally going to want to jump his bones tomorrow but I know that I should resist and first build a solid relationship.

ARGHH. Resistance is difficult!

I don't like it one bit!

I know, I know, I should enjoy the process.

Process, schmossess...

:)

In other, more important news, I have much news on the work front. It is a mixture of good and bad. In essence my senior advisor/economist is leaving. And he has told the manager that I am the only person left in the directorate who can potentially fill his shoes, run the models, design new ones, etc.

There's just no way that I can successfully take over all of his files. No way. I mean, I have as much education as he does. But he has nine years of experience in this branch and with this data. He designed a major employment-related (national) survey. The guy knows his stuff. And he is a doll.

So the long and the short of it is that we already konw how stressful my workplace is, and this is why he is making a career change to another department. And so if I stay myself I am going to be mightily stressed out. But at the same time of course there is an opportunity for me to advance and be promoted very quickly. Life could go very well if I were to play my cards right.

I know that the right thing to do is to stay and play my cards and build my career aggressively.

The alternative is to move to another department--more of a central agency--and be under others' control but also under their mentorship.

It's tricky. I need to think about it.

Two of my standard references let me know that they were contacted this week, so it would seem that I am about to be put in a pool to be offered a series of other jobs at a higher level. And I had coffee with another woman two days ago who wants to hire me for her branch at a higher level. I'd love to work with this woman but her branch's area of operation is much more limited and so I don't see it as a career-building move. It would be a much more comfortable job though.

Who am I kidding?

I'm willing to be ambitious and take the risks. They will be painful.

Enough about work. Whenever I talk about work I feel vaguely ill. Life should be more about fun and adventure!!

I ran quite a bit and hard this week, and I did a super-tough spinning class yesterday. I've been so hungry it is crazy! So I hope that S feeds me a lot tomorrow. I still don't have a new fridge; I ate pizza last night.

I'm sort of wandering here, I know. I think that's about it. This weekend is shaping up to be great and very busy.

Tomorrow: S, from 2-10, say. :)

Sunday: morning: landlord visit, croissants and French; afternoon: the poet scientist, walking, coffee, book shopping.

C'est tout. I need my beauty sleep. :)

|

12:07 a.m. - 2007-09-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08