Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The babbling of a woman with a rotten cold.

I'm sick. I have a cold. And my boss called a meeting at 5 p.m. today, so no home early and to bed. I simply can't take a sick day. I need to be across town at meetings tomorrow.

So the big news is that I HAVE BEEN FOOD POISONING MYSELF FOR THE LAST FEW MONTHS.

Isn't that gross?

I've mentioned repeatedly that I have NOT been feeling well. And it turns out that my fridge has been operating at about 5 degrees above the temp at which it should be operating, even though it is cranked to the max. I had thought that it was not very cold but since it was a new fridge bought by my landlord in the winter I gave it the benefit of the doubt.

So now that I am eating only food bought elsewhere until my landlord replaces the fridge...I am starting to feel better again.

I really do have a high discomfort/pain threshold.

Ewww.

Work is too busy and I can never finish anything, and I really wish that they would give me my darn promotion quickly so that I can get my pay raise.

But we all know how long it took me to actually get my position signed and sealed in the first place..processes are slow.

So I put in a request for a week of vacation starting on the 22nd. I totally can't afford to go anywhere but I am thinking of going somewhere anyhow. But then I also feel quite interested in sitting around my apartment and sleeping all week, too. Tough choice. :) If I'm completely honest the pure impulse that I feel is to fly to Rome. This is a completely unadventurous choice as in contrast to many major European cities I have actually already been to Rome. I see myself sitting with a sketchpad and eating lots of pasta and gelato, if the truth be told. But I can do that here in the big O, too. At much slimmer cost and with much less harrassment.

I wish that I hadn't bought my new bicycle, actually. I haven't been riding it. I could use the money. But then I will probably start riding it and all will be well.

So the date on Sunday turned out to be an eight hour date. The guy is fabulous--a real sweetheart. Problem is that he will be 1) ready to retire in 7 years (and he is only 42); 2) alternately transferring to a comparable organization to the one in which he works...but in Australia.

D�j�-vu, anyone?

Since I must work for, oh, 27 more years before I can collect my full pension...I ain't going to be dating this guy in the long-term. :)

Sigh.

Back to the drawing board. Wonderful guy though. And a cutie. With the French version of my name. Our nicknames are of course identical...cute. Funny.

Oh I'm tired. My cold is sneaking up on me and whacking me up side of the head.

I'm going to curl up in my chair and pretend that I don't feel miserable. This morning, on my way to work, I knew that there was something wrong as it was painfully impossible to pedal hard--I was completely without energy. And I lack the energy to go out to the video store, even. Imagine that!

Oh! Oh! Last night I watched the 1940 P&P on tv. I'd never before seen it. And I apologize to any fans but my goodness it was awful. I mean, Lady Catherine ends up LIKING Lizzie in the end. And those gowns were HORRIBLE.

And Darcy was too obviously eager, too soon.

I did enjoy the archery scene though.

Oh I'm meandering and this is pointless.

I'm off.

Interesting article on a dimension of German cultural life.

|

9:36 p.m. - 2007-09-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08