Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A few small trials at the end of the week.

Oh bad day.

My stomach is bothering me again (small intestine, if the truth be told). It has been bothering me for a while. I need to have some tests done.

But the yucky thing is that I am starting to wonder if the problem is that my fridge isn't cold enough. My food seems to go bad too quickly. Isn't that gross and awful?

So I will have to have a conversation with the landlord tomorrow.

In other news I was highly unproductive today. I just couldn't focus on anything. Not good. I was tired. I definitely need to take a vacation. Soon. After my promotion comes through. :)

And I went to that birthday party tonight. The birthday girl and her boyfriend were nice and the friends were so to a certain degree, but I could see a real maturity divide in the room.

I mean, I have many younger friends and I don't normally get too uptight about the differences.

But--and I should have expected this as the birthday girl has a Ph.D. and her boyfriend several degrees--everyone at the party either had a Ph.D. or was in the process of getting one.

And the interesting and annoying thing I find is that young people who are doing Ph.D.s never waste any time getting it out that they are doing Ph.D.s., and quickly asking you what you do. The response "I'm an economist" never sufficed, either. IN addition, since Claus and I were together, it came out quickly that Claus is struggling to finish his dissertation whilst working, and that we met during graduate school...

Which ultimately meant that I had to explain to a number of cocksure twenty-somethings that I left my Ph.D. unfinished because of a difficult supervisor.

And then I could see their interest in conversing with me quickly deflate.

I was more amused by the stupidity of youth demonstrated via this behaviour, to be honest. And also annoyed, of course, that I had to listen to a series of pretentious girls talk about their experiments in psychology, of all things .

But if I've learned one thing in my travels is that I might as well listen kindly and attentively and shake off any lack of respect demonstrated to me. These girls, too, one day, will realize that everyone has a story worth telling and that humility is...

important.

|

1:37 a.m. - 2007-09-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08