Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

literary criticism

Before I go to bed--and I really should be in bed, tucked neatly between my freshly-laundered floral flannel--I must thank teranika for the Myers article mentioned in reference to today's entry by Mimi Smartypants. It was scathing and delicious! I loved it!

At least the half of it that I have read thus far (the other half to be consumed with breakfast at my desk in the morning, as I try in vain to gear myself up with interest in the work at hand)!

It explains in part why I almost never read contemporary literary fiction. Or at least why I stopped reading contemporary Canadian literary fiction. And it brought to mind Som3rset Maugham and my favourite two works of his--The Summing Up and A Writer's Notebook. They are compiled as The Partial View. In these he explains in simple terms his philosophy of life, and further describes his intense envy at the simple profundity of Emerson's notes written at the age of 18, relative to those in his own notebooks. I like the directness of him; I like his self-criticism.

We all know that I am quite comfortable with self-flagellation.

More tomorrow. I will sleep now. If I can. GOsh I wish that the long weekend were four days instead of three...

|

12:46 a.m. - 2007-09-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08