Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Shultze and Labour Day cleanse

Well, I'm quite astounded with myself. I've been doing a big Labour Day Reorg.

I think that this is going to be an annual event.

And the next thing that I need to do is fill my place with plants.

How I wish I could take tomorrow off. :(

So Super-C. offered me a pine dresser that was left in his apartment and since I have been avoiding reorganizing the bedroom of doom since I moved in here...I decided that today was the day.

My apartment is actually quite large. It's the entire top floor of an old house, as I've mentioned before. And in spite of the fact that the living room and kitchen areas are already quite large, the apartment is basically doubled in size when you add in the bedroom. The bedroom could easily be an office, bedroom AND sitting area. But I have been too lazy to arrange this sort of thing, and lacking in sufficient dresser space to do the organizing. So I have had heaps of IKEA cartons stacked in rows against the walls, my dead thesis in several boxes also stacked against the wall, my new bicycle and other cycling accoutrements along another wall, a giant lamp that my mother made for me and that I cannot possibly refer to as anything but my bordello lamp sitting in another corner by a giant basket chair that came out of our old cottage on the island...Don't ask...

Actually, I will tell you about the lamp. My friends call my mother Lynne Martha Stewart. My mother likes to "make" stuff. And often the stuff is great. But in this instance, for some unknown reason, my mother decided to rewire a LARGE antique floor lamp, spackle/crackle/antique? the lamp in all-over red...and...the piece de resistance...wait for it...glue golden braid along the seams on the (also red) large, bulbous shade, as well as glue golden tassels (yes, you read correctly) along the rim of the shade.

So this lamp remains in my bedroom.

The effect is rather amusing, when coupled with this very cool red and gold painted parasol that I brought back on one of my trips to Japan in the late 1990s.

So enough about the lamp!

My bedroom is now looking sufficiently presentable and spacious again that as I look down the hallway and into the room I do a double take: Could that be my bedroom? Am I in the same house?

So I'm learning house pride. Next it will be decoration. Watch out!

So as I mentioned last night, C. and I inaugurated his new living room by watching videos. It was really quite nice. Shultze is one of his favourite movies, and I love it too. I love the restraint, and the filming is beautiful. It's a very artistic film. And subtle. Throughout it I am always thinking, "It's so nice to watch a movie in the making of which the director was comfortable with a slow pace, knew that a slow pace was required to tell this story."

It's a rare thing in this world--a slow pace.

Hmmm.. I just over ate. C. introduced me to the best treat: emmenthal cheese on dark rye with baby spinach and some sort of a sauce. I confess that this time I put on some sort of a chickory bbq sauce, even though I rarely eat meat and actually don't own a bbq...don't ask about the sauce.

OH OH OH! After the movie last night I ran the three blocks home through our neighbourhood, under the trees, enjoying the breeze rustling the leaves. There were silvery clouds scudding across the sky in the moonlight. I had taken my camera to C's apartment to take a few photos and I yanked it out to capture the clouds but was unsuccessful. They were simply too feathery and light and the setting on my camera was not correct. I did capture some funny pictures of my running and stopping feet, however. But let's start with the movie sequence, cutting to running home under the trees, cutting to stopping by my front porch to stare up at the clouds. :)

Shultze:

C's apartment:

My running feet in my favourite shoes of all time:

The trees/tree (you can't make out the clouds, unfortunately):

And my crazy house at night:

|

5:08 p.m. - 2007-09-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08