Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

market's bounty

Oh good grief I just read last night's late night entry and it is true indeed that my language skills go out the window when I am tired.

I should stop writing these things free-form.

So C. took the wind out of my sails today. After the Renoir exhibit--yes, we went to the national gallery this afternoon, more on that later--he was sitting in my apartment having a snack of good Benedictin blue cheese (very good, from Quebec, highly recommended!) and bread and German salami and he turned to me and said, "R really had the headlights on last night."

I had no idea what C. was talking about, of course. I was thinking, "Headlights? Does he mean that R was looking at women's breasts?"

I don't know if there is a German expression to this effect of which what C said is a loose translation, but I was not familiar with the notion.

Apparently it means that R was very drunk.

I hadn't noticed.

So I won't feel particularly flattered regarding the advances made and gently rebuffed. :)

It is best to forget.

So I didn't have much to drink last night--one bottle of Becks and a slowly sipped pint of Guinness.

But for some reason I was unable to sleep at all, probably in my excitement over the dramas of yesterday, and so I am utterly exhausted.

The Renoir exhibit consisted of many, many small landscape paintings, seventy-five, maybe, and with the Saturday crowds and the headache that I have that is positioned directly over my right eyebrow...it was a somewhat trying experience.

I had anticipated the crowds and so when I bought the tickets yesterday I also rented an audio guide. This helped matters somewhat. I know that this sounds horribly snobby but there is nothing that I dislike more than standing in front of painting trying to experience something beautiful from it and listening to people yammering stupidly about how pretty it is or how bright the colours are or some such thing. THe occasional comment is fine, but crowds full of them are simply horrible. And people bumping into me makes me crazy. This is rather strange, as I am quite comfortable with people being physically close to me, as in crowds in Asia--not a problem.

There were a couple of wise women in the crowd today. The first couple of times they wheeled in front of me in their wheelchairs I had my instinctive reaction of accommodation and slight sadness for them at their immobility. But then I realized that they were both just a little bit old and I had a strong suspicion that neither of them actually needed the wheelchair.

How awful of me, I know. But I was thinking that these women had figured out how best to navigate the Saturday innundation at the gallery. You see, they provide wheelchairs for free for patrons at the gallery upon request.

Hmm. Do forgive me for my insensitivity.

But I must tell you that the whole time that I was in the gallery I was wanting to scream at the top of my lungs that everyone should leave so that I could see the pictures. Now!

:)

I was so utterly exhausted by the end of the two hours in the gallery reading signs from odd angles and at 6 to 8 feet distant from the paintings that I could hardly enjoy my brief cheese-buying expedition to the market.

So I am now sitting at home, beautiful fresh vegetables and wild blueberries all laid out on the kitchen counter and ready for eating...and quite relieved to be so situated. Pictures to come in a moment.

My bedroom window (and my new bicycle!)

And my living room wall right before a just-passed storm.

(My favourite Manet painting EVER.)

<!)

More summer rain in Ottawa

>

|

5:23 p.m. - 2007-08-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08