Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Escape from serious injury

I had a SPECTACULAR wipeout on my bicycle this afternoon.

Don't worry--I am perfectly OK.

It was a reminder, however, that when it is raining I need to slow down.

I really wasn't trying to ride particularly fast. The thing is that it hasn't rained much here this summer and so I'm not very accustomed to riding in the rain. I took one of my usual corners at my usual speed, keeping with the flow of traffic, and I ended up with the wheels sliding sideways and my body sliding sideways, likewise, across the tarmac.

Thank goodness that I had turned right on a green and so no traffic was coming up behind me. And thank goodness too that it was a one-way street on which I was riding. If those two things had not been true I might have been in big trouble.

But I wasn't.

And the remarkable thing is that there was no damage done to my bike or more importantly my body, apart from scrapes on my foot (my shoe came off), my right knee, my right hip, my right hand, and my right elbow.

I look like a little girl with a bunch of boo boos and a little bit of road rash.

But only a little.

I am unscathed.

That is about it for now. I had a very productive day at work, am tired but happy, am awaiting what will undoubtedly be a rather long and irritating phone call from a friend in Toronto who is blindly deluded about many things. But I will do my duty.

I've been thinking lately about B. and about how much I like him. Since I've been working with him again he has tried to keep a professional distance and has kept our movie-watching to a minimum. I've missed spending time with him. I understand his reserve and certainly otherwise his hesitation about dating me, but there are few people whom I respect more.

Ah. Sigh. Men are difficult.

The poet scientist has been trying to get me to join the outdoors club on a hike in the Adirond@cks. I think I mentioned that already. Unfortunately I lingered too long though and now the spots are taken. I'm feeling somewhat sorry for myself as a result. I need to leap more often. :(

Oh what else? Well I ate tuna melts for dinner this evening, for the second night in a row. There is no particular reason for this other than that I was craving them. And there is a big, fresh cauliflower sitting on my kitchen counter and I have the strong feeling that I should be nourishing myself by cooking some of it and slathering it with cheese :). But my legs and hips are too stiff to propell me to the counter :) and a general laziness has come over me. Propel finishes with the flourish of only one P, doesn't it? Oh well.

I will go. Cauliflower here I come. And then I think I will put either V3nus or The Unb3arable Lightness of B3ing in the dvd player.

Plus ca change...

Oh, before I go-- I must amuse you. I loathe online dating but I re-edited my profile on a familiar dating site today (why, why, I ask myself?) and I got an impersonal message back noting that my opening line had been rejected. And I had thought it highly amusing. :) It seems that this particular site, which shall remain nameless, does not like commentary in opening lines that includes mention of features of the site. The opening line went something like this, and absolutely no malice was intended by it: "It is a truth universally acknowledged that a woman is always greater than the sum of 2000 characters." ;)

These people really have no sense of humour. Or they haven't read P&P. Or something else. Do they not know that they are making lots of money from me? I have not spent a dime but every time a guy makes the mistake of contacting me he is required to pay 2 bucks. Sad but true. I am generating income for these people.

I really need to go hiking in the Adirondacks and thereby turn my attention to meeting trees rather than men. I do better with trees, anyhow. :)

Cheerio.

|

10:20 p.m. - 2007-08-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08