Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

More fatigue, an over-filled stomach, and too little time.

So you'll have to excuse me, as will everyone who knows me and to whom I owe any favours, as I've been utterly USELESS for the last two days.

I'm just zonked. I'm not sure why. I must not have slept well last night. Perhaps I'm sleep walking. Perhaps I have an undiagnosed case of sleep apnea. Who knows?

Work has been difficult in the last two days, but I'm not going to talk about it.

I actually left work early--at 5:30 p.m.--today, hoping to join the outdoors club for a canoe outing. Unfortunately though it was a rare evening on which there were insufficient cars to provide rides to everyone and so the four of us--the poet scientist, C., and C.'s girl-of-choice's Senegalese visitor whom C. was hoping to entertain Canadian-style--were left out in the cold.

C. and Akoba decided to play tennis so the poet scientist and I were left to talk and munch our picnic dinners on a park bench in a local tennis park. It was pleasant, in spite of the fact that I was slightly too weary tonight to make fantastically interesting conversation. The poet scientist and I have an easy friendship though so on the whole it was pleasant and we shared a few innocent laughs, mostly at the expense of his two brothers--one of whom is a corporate lawyer who in A.'s words has been performing indecent acts on the devil and the other of whom the lawyer has been supporting during the second brother's attempts to become the next Douglas C0upland. :)

Following the tennis game the four of us landed at my favourite pub and I consumed one lamb curry wrap with salad and 1.5 pints of Guinness. My favourite pub has this lovely policy of treating a half pint rather like 3/4 of a pint. Good for the pocket book but not so good for a weary me.

I do love Guinness.

SO since I'm avoiding talking about the stresses of work I will instead tell you about the perks!

One of my research colleagues/superiors is a very cute guy. He's a wonderful guy to hang around with and we have a very pleasant friendship. He's also drop-dead gorgeous, which makes hanging around with him not unpleasant, in spite of the fact that we would never be a dating match.

So the best part about hanging out with a cute colleague is that he has other cute colleague friends. And they are all athletic. They have formed a lunchtime running club in which it turns out that I am the only invited girl member. Yesterday I ran at lunch flanked by two of them--both drop-dead gorgeous--and may I say that every woman should have a drop-dead gorgeous running posse?

I'm going to call it my "stud" run from now on. ;)

Just kidding.

It's nice to have running partners, particularly ones who are much less fit than oneself and so can tire each other out in a typically testosterone-y fashion by competing against each other on the run whilst I do not so much as sweat a drop or end up with a hair out of place. ;)

There are only a few perks to my job and my current life. I'm going to try to enjoy this one.

|

10:19 p.m. - 2007-08-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08