Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A mere grocery list

Last night C. and I finally made it out to Shakespeare in the park. It was kind of funny.

Unlike in major cities, this was a rather small-scale Shakespeare in the park--as in I rode by the stage on my bicycle thinking that it was a child's play tent or puppet theatre! C. and his friend J. in fact had to ride forward and catch me to indicate that they'd found the stage. I was searching in another area of the park.

In spite of the less-than-grand-scale and the less-than-traditional presentation of Twelfth Night (they interspersed the dialogue with songs from Grease!), it was actually a tremendously fun and well-spoken presentation of one of my favourite plays. There were only five or six actors in the show, and their enthusiasm was winning.

It was also a lovely evening. We sat on a blanket on the grass at the front of the group, since unlike the others we had not brought lawn chairs. The usher kindly grabbed us from the back and showed us to the spot that we ultimately occupied. The wind was blowing in the willows and we were about 400m from a pretty beach over which the sun eventually set. The staging area was ringed by torchlights.

Fun.

Another friend of C.'s from football showed up with his girlfriend as well, so we were five. And after the play we returned for a second evening to my favourite pub for a good meal--this pub actually has good fare, including vegetarian--and a pint or two.

The thing is though that this one friend of C's (J) really puts me on edge. He's the kind of person--and I'm sure that we all know someone like this--who smiles and is pleasant but whom you think all the while thinks that you are intellectually deficient. He has this way of presenting information and stories that doesn't allow anyone else to convey a relevant story, or information about related experience.

The guy is a lawyer and currently clerks at the Supreme Court. So it's interesting that we could have a full conversation about law-related matters and yet I had no opening in which to indicate that I have some understanding of the law given that I completed one year of law school before I ran off to be a ...runner.

And even when talking about exercise--something about which I am a relative expert--the guy has a way of patronizing me.

Hugely frustrating.

Anyhow. With people like that I suppose the best strategy is just to allow them to think one stupid and then go on one's merry way.

It must be a bit lonely in his world of perceived superiority.

Anyhow. So it was an OK evening. C. kept on getting annoyed with me as I sat at the edge of our table in our nook and was scanning the room. I didn't mean any malice by it. Such interesting people visit this pub. What I like most is the demographic diversity in the clientele. Most of the time, I look around the pub and think, "I'd like to know the people in that group, or in that group."

Hmm...Well today I am afraid that I must get off my silly arse, have a shower, and head out to buy new cutlery, some additional wine glasses, new hand towels and new tea towels to encourage my guests tomorrow to think of me as somewhat civilized. I still possess only my student apartment accoutrements and in truth they are rather shabby. I just don't notice these things most of the time.

I will also visit the cheese shop in the market and will buy some LOVELY items! ;)

Can you guess what I will be having for dinner tonight?

If anyone happens to read this and has any nice suggestion for a quick and easy but lovely appetizer or salad or dish for a little potluck gathering, I'd be MORE than willing to accept the suggestion. For now I'm going with a fruit and cheese plate. :)

What else? Rien, je pense.

Thank goodness I actually feel rested and relaxed today. I think it likely that this is as much because the heat wave has broken as because I slept reasonably well last night. But in fact it might actually be because I ordered a very rich pasta dish last night and I think my body perhaps was telling me that I have not been eating enough fat these days. :)

OK. I must off. Hmm.. perhaps I should buy some flowers, too. How I wish I had a garden...

|

10:50 a.m. - 2007-08-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08