Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The heat wave has broken, but only slightly.

I'm incredibly weary today. I have no idea why I couldn't sleep but I awoke after about six hours--in spite of general fatigue and inadequate sleep this week--and so feel like a pile of poo.

An official expression, that.

Things are good. I took the risk and made the investment in a good bike on Thursday, as earlier debated. I think it's a good investment in my future. My joints likely thank me for making the commitment to not run myself into the ground for the rest of my life.

Too, I can see myself undertaking cycling-based travel. I would greatly enjoy a vacation spent riding through a beautiful part of the world by day, and camping under the stars and enjoying local cuisine of an evening. I'm relatively easy to please. And I like my body to be in motion.

This we know already.

I feel a great deal of peace at the moment. I feel no inclination, for example, to do much of anything this weekend. I'm going to stroll to the bookstore, sit out in the sun with a book, clean my apartment, eat, drink coffee.

In other words: I'm going to do exactly what I always do.

Only this time with no guilt.

Last night C. and I went out to my favourite pub for a meal and a pint or two of Guinness. C. got excited at one point at the realization that we were sitting at a table next to that of a reporter whom he recognized.

At one point, the reporter and his cronies commenced chatting about the Minister of Finance in his early days as a lawyer and C. became quite attentive.

I was less impressed. Actually, I was mostly impressed with the air of arrogance of these people, and particularly of the reporter in question. I wonder if reporters generally acquire this sort of aura, especially in a political town? They're on the inside, or so they believe (whether or not this is true these days and with this prime minister is quite another question).

I don't know. Anyhow. I wanted to discuss the theory behind a particular policy option that I am currently trying to develop as part of a proposal package to our minister, so I was annoyed that I felt it necessary to curtail my questions to naught.

Doesn't really matter. :)

Oh tired.

So something rather annoying happened. I live on the top floor of an old house, which I've mentioned repeatedly I'm sure. And it is very, very hot in this apartment this summer as a result of its location under the eaves. I'd had the air conditioner removed--horrible, dirty eyesore!--from my bedroom window when I moved in last fall, for both environmental and aesthetic reasons.

But earlier this week I was sitting at my computer after work in the absolutely SAUNA-LIKE conditions during our 35 degree plus heat wave, reflecting on the hard work that my poor fridge was doing to stay reasonably cool...and I broke down. I wrote a note to the landlord about replacing the air conditioner.

And you know what he did? ACK! He did not put the air conditioner back into the front window as expected, but rather removed my lovely large living room window that opens wide...and replaced it with cutout plexi-glass (and the air con unit) that cannot be opened! It's making me crazy. I feel claustrophobic. I can't deal with it.

I realize that all windows are meant to be shut when an air conditioning unit is in place, anyhow. But I just didn't realize quite how essential it for me to bring the outside in. Having this air conditioner there is simply unbearable.

And my landlord did not seem to be very receptive to moving it, even though I offered to pay. :)

Ah well. My many trivial trials.

OK. I must say that I am desperately in need of a coffee...I think I will have to go out in order to avoid noticing the awful air conditioner in my line of sight.

More later. :) I do have some interesting things to say!

|

10:27 a.m. - 2007-08-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08