Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

An overcast Saturday. All is right with my world.

I have not been writing lately, it is true.

I've been working copiously, which is nice. Not a problem. And then I've been a bit weary the rest of the time. It's probably the heat, but might be low iron. I've recently stepped up the weekend long runs. Not sure. I've been a bit lazy re. proper cooking and that's a problem.

Nothing else is new. I'm happy, feeling easy. I've taken a day of holidays Monday so that I can enjoy a long weekend. I can't wait to luxuriate in the pleasure of not having to go to work on Monday. I'm going to be one of those people sitting on the patio at the coffee shop with my paper, basking in the morning sun.

I want to go on another holiday at some point, but I have to tell you that of late I've only been craving the small indulgence of a "me day" here and there. It's a nice feeling. I can't put my finger on the whys and wherefores of it but it's nice.

I like myself best when my easy humour returns. I'm natural and comfortable. Easy in my skin. I dislike complaining in general. What's to complain about when you live at a living standard ridiculously far above that of the vast majority of the remaining world? I mean 78% of people live on the equivalent of less than $7000 Cdn a year. And I have many times that just for myself. Of course this is a facile comparison as there are many deficits in my existence that are not present in those of others.

The lives of others. I'd like to see more lives. I guess that's what I'm saving to do in my travel. I think a volunteer project or something in India or Africa or South America next year will be just the ticket. If anyone knows anything about Volunt33rs for P3ace and would like to offer some advice please feel free.

So I'm simplifying everything in my life. I eliminated my long distance plan. I'm going to cancel my cable--I hardly ever watch tv, anyhow. I originally got it when I was depressed and constrained in school last year, as a crutch. It served its purpose; now it is simply a waste of money.

I wish I could buy a house and have a patch of land on which to grow a garden right now. But housing prices are ridiculous inside the city now so I will need to wait and accumulate over a couple of years. Regrettably. The day will come, however, and hopefully the exodus of baby boomers to the country or to condos will make housing more affordable...

There's an exact neighbourhood in which I want to live, you know. There's one particular, leafy street that I take a detour to ride down every morning on my bike on my way through downtown to work. It's lovely and gracious, and just that little bit run down in places so that one is encouraged to find it charming and to think it possible to one day own there.

One can only hope.

I'm nothing if not hopeful.

OK. Time to read the paper.

|

10:23 a.m. - 2007-07-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08