Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

No vacations this year after all, I suspect :)

So I just bought an expensive bike!

Well they have to assemble it for me and I get to pick it up on Thursday. It's so light and so beautiful and I am going to be SOOOOOOOOOOOOO FAST.

YAYYYYYYYYYY

That conversation last night had a huge impact on me. I've been thinking about this and that lately--buying a bike or not, taking an art course or not...

And I've decided to do both!

I WILL wait until September or the cool October weather before I take the drawing course. But it will happen.

I've decided that saving money for a house is one thing, but creating a REAL life for myself by taking action is the essential thing.

All of the advice and counsel from others can't take do half the good that I can do myself by taking my strong, healthy body and good, adventurous spirit out into the world to be...whatever I want.

Last night was a good night. I heard from my married guy friends that they all think of me as very attractive--based on the way that I carry myself. I heard that they enjoy talking with me, which I had always known, of course. And I heard that they respect me for the dignity with which I've picked myself up time and time again.

So their gifts to me were many. And these gifts gave me the power that I needed to go out and take the risk of feeling stupid in a sport in which I have literally no experience.

Day by day I'm going to work towards a healthy, non-workaholic :) life. (MY GOD I have been working too much lately, and when work becomes life...)

This bike purchase of course means that I will not be getting a dog in the near future. I regret this. But on balance I think that the dog would be too much responsibility for me right now, and also too likely to incline me to spending a great deal of time without the company of other human beings...as usual.

I just need to find a cycling boyfriend who already owns a dog. :)

Next stop: cross-country skiing...

|

5:58 p.m. - 2007-07-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08