Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Life gradually gains momentum again...

I'm so lucky to have C., and yet I feel so guilty when I rely on his friendship.

He knows how horribly I've been feeling lately so he came over this morning with a small blueberry pie and chocolatines (chocolate croissants, Quebec-style)! And some fresh coffee.

He actually let himself in whilst I was still sleeping, which scared me somewhat, of course, so not all was fantastic in this scheme. But anyhow... :)

So the breakfast was lovely. He really is such a kind and generous friend.

And I've spent the last few hours cleaning and dusting--cleaning out the fridge, vacuuming, doing laundry. This seems to be my Saturday morning or alternately Sunday afternoon routine.

I truly am not an orderly person by instinct (which is why I must clean thoroughly every weekend at least), but I DO LOVE to clean. I mean, I get such a thrill out of seeing things shine up. It's kind of a sickness. :)

Of course my apartment still needs A LOT of work. I tell myself that I will eventually get to it but if the truth be told I am unlikely to unleash my energies on this sort of activity until I buy a house. I just don't care much about decor or furniture, beyond a point. I do, however, need more plants. If I could bring the world inside...

SO the big decision now is...do I buy a dog?????

We know how much I LOVE DOGS. I really, really love animals. But growing up with a father who was a veterinarian and a mother who is pet-crazy has made me patently aware of the costs and responsibilities involved in being a good pet owner. It gives me pause, particularly since I want to travel this fall.

I suppose that I could aim to get a dog AFTER my trip. Hmmm...

And what kind of dog? I know that I should get something that will not ignite my allergies and asthma.

But no matter how you slice it--and how nice and smart they are--I'm just not attracted to poodles. They're not my type of dog. I'm a golden girl, unfortunately. And goldens are out of the question I think as the populations around here--on this continent, practically--have too many weaknesses inbred.


It's tricky. I've taken a look at the mutts listed at the pound and they are all German Shephard crosses. No offense meant to GS owners but scary experiences with these dogs in the past will prevent me from ever considering owning one. Again, I think that the breeding in these parts has done this particular variety of dog no good service.

I love border collies but they're crazy and I don't own a farm. End of story. :)

What to do?

Perhaps I should just get a really cute picture of a really cute dog, like culotte's wonderful Napoleon, and post it on the wall or something.

That would do for now. Hmmm.

I'm saying hmmmm a great deal these days.

Indecision DRIVES ME NUTS. And I struggle with it daily, hourly.

I needed to replace my silver ballet flats yesterday because they are toast and so I went shopping and actually almost immediately bought two pairs of the cutest little pseudo-ballet, semi-slingback flats in black leather and in this truly amazing red patent leather. It was so unlike me--in and out in under a half an hour. And they were on sale.

So I'm making some progress. I've been out to a cool concert and danced with young, hip people and light sabres :), and attended an epic movie this weekend. I've cleaned my apartment. I've had brunch with a friend, and I'm about to sit down and read.

I was a little bit naughty last night. I slept long and well on Friday night so I indulged my fondness for the middle of the night by watching not ONE but TWO movies after I returned from Tolstoy at midnight. How crazy is that?

I watched D3ar Fr@nkie and Before Suns3t. As the video store woman (whose name I actually shamefully do not know, in spite of frequently engaging in conversation with her) said on Thursday, I was in the mood for sighs and easy viewing. I like both of these movies very much as comfort viewing. A friend once told me that the character of Celine very much reminds her of me. And with respect to neuroses and speech patterns I am inclined to agree with her. ;)

So what to do now? I think that a shower and a little bit of reading is on deck. I worked SO HARD--as in burnout hard--at work this week that I am not permitting myself to graph anything or read anything even remotely related to either work or the labour market or economic function in general, so that is GOOD. Something light and literary is the order of the day.

GOD THIS WAS BORING. SO BORING. WHEN DID I GET TO BE SO BORING?

The only vaguely amusing thing that I can think to tell you is that I biked to the movie at the national archives last night in a skirt and high heels and was in such a rush that I initially forgot to hike my skirt up to expose my bike tights and I ended up ripping the back of my skirt as I climbed on. Of course.

And it is true, too, that the movie itself was fairly amusing. I mean, as I wrote last night, the PEACE was so 1960s and SO TOLST0Y and SO IRKSOME. (Bring back the cannon!) But I guess the last part was to be expected. And otherwise I wanted to reach into the screen and rip off Natasha's false eyelashes...

And the audience itself was quite amusing--it was full of OLD PEOPLE. (Well, what would one expect at the national archives on a Saturday night?) We four were by far the youngest people there. And the funny thing about these poor grey-hairs with walkers and the like is that four hours of War and Peace beginning at 7 p.m. was just too much for them. (Frankly, it was too much for me as well.)

The intermission came after part I, of course, which was a good 2.25 hours into the film. Half of the elderly people had stumbled their way out in the dark to use the washroom before this time. Some had left altogether. And the woman two rows ahead of me had slumped down and begun snoring about an hour in. And oh yes-- the woman next to me was having a wee gas problem.

It was rather amusing. But I suppose I should view this as good preparation for the Ch@mber Music Festival, which begins next week. It's a grey-hairs event, too, and somewhat of a contrast to the cool stovepipe pants and funky haircuts all around us at the Metric concert on Friday, but I digress. :D I do love the Chamber Music Festival though--last year C. and I attended a candle-lit 11 p.m. version of the Goldberg Vari@tions that was SPECTACULAR. All performances take place in old churches around my centretown neighbourhood. I think that there are 110 concerts this year, if I remember correctly. A single ticket is something like a measly $10 and a pass $75. And the performers are world class. A great event--I need my yearly fill of B@ch. :)

That's it. Really. I can't think of anything amusing to say. What have I come to?

|

2:54 p.m. - 2007-07-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08