Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Off to the Bluesfest...

Today was a better day! Feelings lifted?

Although watching me work through my new tasks at work today was like paint dry--as it has been all week--I felt like I actually accomplished a few things and was getting a handle on some useful new skills and so I feel less horrific about myself at the moment.

Give me a sense of accomplishment and my depression usually lifts. It's all tied to my incredibly fragile feelings of self-worth!

OK. So now that that is clear, I'm OK. I also slept reasonably well last night ate a healthy meal of fish and salad.

I should also mention that in the last couple of days my stomach problems have gone into remission. I should not be underestimating the role that the discomfort of late has been playing in my poor feelings and poor (for me) work performance.

So, oddly, all day today I've been feeling like actually getting out and DOING things this weekend.

Tonight, C. is dragging me to a concert of a band he likes. This inevitably means that it is music that I will not like for more than about ten minutes, but it's all about the experience, non?

And tomorrow I will be going to the R3noir exhibition at the National Gallery. Tomorrow evening, I'll be at a showing of the first half of W@r and Peace at the National Archives.

Believe it or not they are showing the entire seven hours of that 1-billion-in-current-dollars Russian movie version of the book.

Should be interesting. Maybe. And two weekends' worth of watching. Sort of amazing that I'm willing to subject myself to this, but I've always liked movie series at archives.

I do have archival training, after all. :)

Actually, my fondness stems from an accidental association that was struck for me between archives and films. My friend Helena and I were strolling through the Australian NAtional University, I believe, one day, and we saw a sign advertising the meeting of a film society at the archives on the university campus. We joined up and that was it--it was lovely to sit for films in the old building and then partake of cookies and tea with the other members.

I need to join in on more random activities...

I need to embrace serendipity again.

OK. Well, I'd better eat some more fish and perhaps some spinach and baguette. C. will arrive shortly. HE'll be late, of course, but not TOO late... :)

|

7:22 p.m. - 2007-07-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08