Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Saturday morning frustration.

So you know what?

I've decided that man quality in Ottawa is very, very low.

Single man quality, anyhow.

I mean, SERIOUSLY, is there a single man in Ottawa who would not describe himself as "a nice, easygoing guy who likes to BBQ?" (and make 18 spelling errors in the process?)

And who doesn't end every sentence with "Go S3ns Go!"

I've decided that I might have to leave the country in order to find a man who is mature and kind, reasonably fit and pleasant-looking (not necessarily attractive), with good habits of personal cleanliness, and who actually likes to HAVE a CONVERSATION about something--anything--complex.

Actually, that sums it up in a nutshell. Larry dumped me apparently because I'm too "caaaaawmplicaaaaaaaaaated."

Simple desire: a man who doesn't mind--nay, might be attracted--to something or someone with a few more than a single note.

It's like all that the guys around here want is some T&A who will watch the hockey game...and then to steal culotte's line, "have sex with them and then get up and make them a sandwich."

ARGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH.

Caveat: I have met a few unmarried and yet complex and charming men in Ottawa. Unfortunately, I believe that each of them were actually gay and in denial about this.

True.

SO I'm going to focus on me. I'm going to focus on fun. And I'm going to focus on thinking. I'm taking myself out to the Bridgehead again for a coffee. I'm wearing this very casual but very Audrey Hepburn-ish dress that I found in my closet and remember wearing all over Australia in 1998 and 1999 with S. It's simply fabulous. Don't you love clothes that stand the test of time and leave you feeling classily sexy every time?

More about the men, before I quit. Seriously, the men in this town are so...much like...I dunno...flaccid porridge (is there any other kind?)...that even my landlord is starting to look good. (But don't tell him that.)

Maybe I should start hanging around outside the National R3search Council offices.

UGHHHHHHHH..

I'm bored.

I don't really mean that. I can read. I'm going to bury myself in books, music and film. It's all I can do. It's been my coping mechanism since I could walk.

But people bore me, in general. I'd call Alex, the poet scientist, but I'm just not attracted to him and I don't want to lead him on. I've tried to be very honest and clear with him. I think he needs at least another year of healing from his marriage, anyhow.

Sigh.

In spite of not yet having enough growth, my friend Ava and I decided last night that I should just go ahead and buzz my hair. I know that Larry's guy is super busy on Saturdays so I think I'll go on either Monday or Wednesday. I'll definitely post pictures of the gamine new look. And I promise, promise that you will from that point forward not have to read further entries about my hair. I've been trying to avoid too much talk of it lately. Have you noticed? ;)

Gosh I am looking forward to having brown hair--however little--again.

Oh yes! More about men! Last night, Ava's husband passed on a hello from his friend Al, whom I met a few weeks ago. Since then Mike (the husband), has mentioned AL to me repeatedly. And repeatedly I have told him that Al seemed nice enough but just wasn't a match. Read: Al was dull, dull, dull and spat on me as he spoke. He's a government procurement guy who, when asked about what he likes to do for fun paused and said, "Well, I like to lift weights at the gym!" This had been obvious, given that he was wearing a super-tight t-shirt with the clear intent of showing off his pecs.

Good choice of match for me, Mike! And this even though we attended grad school together, and I kicked your ass in every class! :)

But of course we all know that women are not seeking a man who can carry on a conversation...about something beyond free weights and the wholesale price of toilet seats. ;)

Sigh. I Just Don't Get It.

I really have no desire to date at the moment.

Pact with self: Don't even consider dating for at least the summer. You're at risk to become a seriously, seriously bitter women. Restore your positive attitude by nurturing yourself!

|

12:13 p.m. - 2007-06-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08