Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

second short entry

So I'm preparing to announce something to you:

Today is a break point. It is the day from which day forward my life will become more exciting and fulfilled.

No more pining. No more moping. No more worrying.

I love my job. I'm settled in a great place and I have a career future ahead of me with which I am quite satisfied.

I really, really need to appreciate this. This is a big piece of the puzzle.

I should be able to buy myself a nice little house in the next couple of years.

And I'm going to be running and competing again!

And I'm going to be happy, dammit, just a little bit. Every day.

So I downloaded an article from the Internet that enumerated 14 examples of ways in which you can work to appreciate your life. At least I think it was 14 ways. And I also downloaded an article that chronicled 7 ways in which one can become more optimistic.

At least I think it was 7 things.

I don't believe in close reading of this type of article. Really, I know all of these things. I simply need to implement them.

So I sat in my office and I made a list of the things that I am constructively going to do--some each day, some with more limited frequency--to appreciate every day of my life.

And none of these things involved boys.

Because of course the secret to boys is to do everything else. Build it and they will come, as they say.

I have the list in my knapsack, although I'll be darned if I can remember the full list.

The basics are things like joining an outdoors club so that I can do some canoe-trekking this summer, attending all of my running club practises and spending time with my coach, and finally committing to weekly volunteering with the literacy group or a seniors group.

Beyond that I am going to take another anatomical drawing course this summer.

Beyond that...Well, you can imagine the list of little things that one might do. More interestingly, perhaps, is the little tip that the article gave that "happy people store up positive thoughts!"

Isn't that helpful?!?!? :)

I did, in fact, think the advice was helpful. It suggested that one can benefit from taking time each day--say three sessions for up to five minutes at a time-- to focus on something that makes or has made us happy. Suggestions included one's first kiss.

I could think back to a kiss or two that would put a smile on my face.

But right now all I need to do is look around my space and be happy that I have the job that I do. And I can concentrate on the lovely fact that my best friend will be living three blocks away from me in a matter of weeks.

And, darn it, it's summer in Ottawa. Suffocating, humid, smoggy summer in Ottawa!

So much better than -25, if truth be told.

I have lily of valley wafteing its lovely odour to me from the vase on the shelf behind me. Divine. So much in life is divine. If I can hold on very tightly to that thought it will no longer occur to me that I *need* a man. :)

Sleep time. I'm quite sleep deprived at the moment.

Oh yes! Sleep and proper nutrition are others of my list of resolutions!

Have a great day, all!

|

11:13 p.m. - 2007-05-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08