Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Almost a surreal week. Live and love life. It's mostly good.

OK. So you really don't want to know what has happened to me this week...but I will tell you anyhow...

So I went to the hairdresser's last weekend, and the hairdresser--being the incompetent that he is (my stupidity for going back to him)--instead of correcting the mess he made properly, accidentally ? put RED dye on my hair. After that he toned over it to make it--in his words--coppery!

OMG I looked so ugly all week. I can honestly tell you that it was disturbingly humbling to watch people, even my boss, look strangely at me and then out of tact not say anything. It was odd.

But I've never felt so sure that hair is just petty crap that will grow back and who the hell cares. I thought of shaving it all off, as I had in 2000.

But the new guy loves long brown hair and begged me not to cut it off (men), so instead I opted to go to another salon and simply have them do a mini-correction. And they did, only they pushed me WAY too light and gave me freakish highlights. You do NOT want to see me with freakish highlights. I am brunette with olive skin, all the way.

In other words, my hair is pretty fried. But at least now that they've toned over it I look half way normal.

I'm not EVER going to colour my hair again. Not only did I waste a heap of money, I stressed myself unduly... i don't care if I have a gigantic, heaping line where my hair grows in. My own hair will grow in and that will be it. COME ON DOWN GRAY HAIR (of which I have very little, but anyhow).

Which brings me to the next point. After having my hair done (after, fortunately), I passed out. I mean I literally fell down and blacked out at the hair salon.

SO I spent the afternoon--the first beautiful, sunny afternoon--at the hospital, having a neurological workout.

Verdict: probably stress.

I could have told them that. But they initially suspected a stroke. And they are concerned about a few other things, given the headaches and dizziness that I have been experiencing over the last week.

I'm not worried. I'm just overtired, haven't been able to eat this week, overall just wearied after a long few years of disappointments, stress, hurt.

But I'll be OK. Hopefully on Monday my new contract will come through.

Did I happen to mention that yesterday they dangled my contract in front of me and then there was yet another glitch???

And that my boss returned and wanted to see me and has basically written off the work that I have been doing for the last eight months, on account of the AWOL-ness of my co-author.

I mean, it's not entirely written off. But obviously I won't be able to finish it with my co-author,once my co-author returns from leave (he has a serious medical problem with his jaw and is undergoing surgery next week...he has a history of serious health problems and this is related to cancer treatment that he had ten years ago).

My boss is not the world's most sensitive guy so I felt rather dismissed by it all. I can understand why his is pissed off at the outcome. Though it is not my fault at all and if anything I overproduced; my co-author has said so. There was no way that I could have produced the project all on my own.

So that is the sum up of my miserable life. In general though I can tell you that I have fried but slightly more attractive hair (colour-wise), than I did yesterday. My pocket book is lighter. I have used up my share of health care dollars for the year. I now need to sit down and do my taxes.

And the odd thing about the timing of all of this is that I may well soon be in a great job that I think will do me lots of good. And I may too have found the perfect guy for me. So strange that so many other things have gone wrong.


Did I mention, too, that my parents have bought a wonderful new house in the most awesome county on Lake Ontario? It's prime and they've finally found their dream old farmhouse. It's vineyard country. And lake country. It's the house that we always dreamed of having as a family, when we were going through the motions in the damn suburbs of Toronto.

SO that is it. I am going to be a good girl and take care of myself.

Take care, all!
***adding photos*** SO I was just chatting with culotte and I was thinking about attractive vs. not attractive guys. I mean, attraction is all in the eye of the beholder. I've always dated pretty cute guys, though inadvertently. This guy in whom I am interested is probably the plainest of the lot. And you know what? I really don't care. I don't think I ever cared that much. But I've definitely stopped caring.

So, pics: Boyfriend in my early 20s. Athlete. Sweet. Cute. And heaven's NO that is NOT my sofa--we were visiting a cabin on a lake built by one of Drew's friends. :) That's me being dorky, and probably drunk.

Olympian boyfriend.

Olympian boyfriend again. Not a great picture of either of us...we'd just run a marathon (Houston '99), if that cuts us any slack, and were celebrating in New Orleans..with beer, of course. He was wearing his bolo? tie and cowboy boots (both gifts), just for fun.

Hmmm...seems to be a problem with the pic of the email dumper. I can't seem to upload it.. Will keep on trying. OK. Here goes..email dumper. Not my type, really, but cute and boyish for 39, non? Fantastic physique, by the way, and if I'm honest I am sure that is the primary reason that I had so much difficulty letting go in the beginning...(Note to self: Don't again go so long without having, er...fun.)

Anyhow. The guy I'm currently into, and, frankly, who is far more interesting to me than any of the previous guys...happens to be short and bald. He does run though so he has a fit physique. He's just so fantastic; his looks don't even factor into the equation. I stopped caring about other people's looks a long time ago, for some reason. I'm glad-- it widens the dating pool. :)

|

6:28 p.m. - 2007-04-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08