Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

OMG NYC IS FANTASTIC

I LOOOOVE NEW YOKK!

Really, I do.

I mean, I get why they say that. I never had before. The only other time I have been to NYC it was for a few hours and mostly involved sitting in the urine-smelling lower level of the bus terminal, in the heat of July.

So, there you go.

NYC is FANTASTIC.

I walked through Central Park every day as it is one block from my friend's apartment. And every time I suffered because I had not brought my running shoes with me. I nearly took off each time a runner passed. I would have run in high heels even, had my companion not been with me throughout the trip.

Speaking of my companion...

Let it suffice to say that she was a real pill. On the only occasion on which I asked that we have dinner with our host and his girlfriend and her sister, she sat sullenly and silently. Afterwards she said that she didn't like the sister--even though she was the sweetest woman I have ever met--because she was not stylish and didn't tell good jokes.

I mean, I took her out with a diplomat who works at the United Nations, a woman who works for an organization that works to promote democracy in Latin America, and a resident in haemotology. All were very nice and unpretentious people and obviously not uninteresting. I was incensed!


Otherwise, too--and I won't harp on this at length--she needed to be cared for like a baby. (I'm sorry to say this but there often seems to be an inverse relationship between formal education and common sense with some people.) I did not even see my brother whilst there. (Next time! And there will be a next time!)

Some compensatory experiences involved
-seeing a show on Broadway
-eating excellent food that was not expensive at all
-the purchase of each of a pair of red and a pair of silver-pink shoes
(I have always wanted to own a pair of red shoes... :))
-visiting the Metropolitan Museum of Art on Friday night
-teranika's walking tour suggestion, including a trip to Murray's!! (really pulling teeth to get my companion to go there with me, but I did it...although I bought and ate there not cheese but a big chunk of Caillebout chocolate!)
-shopping in SoHo and therabouts...yes! yes! yes!

So that is about it. I have many pictures. None of them are of me, don't worry! (:)) (I confess though that this is only because I am so horrified by my appearance at the moment that it is giving me real grief...hair like mud... :)). I will post some once I transfer them to my computer.

What else?

It was very cold. That was the only real downside to the trip. We walked around all day and night and I was horribly cold throughout. I had to buy a NYC toque about mid-way through the trip. Also, I wish I'd gone up the Rockefeller Centre and not the Empire State Building, also because I was SO cold on the top, but because of the tourist circus that I had to endure to get there. (I really, really, don't like crowds of other tourists. I'm grumpy like that. :() I did it for my companion though, and she seemed to love it...plus the pictures that came out of the trip up are excellent.

Now to find SOME way to move to NYC. Anyone know anyone looking to keep a marginally attractive though pleasant woman? ;) (The pallor of my life as a low-level bureaucrat living in a banana republic of sorts was painfully obvious to me this weekend. ;) Perhaps I can find a way to sell my services as a jogging companion....

|

6:45 p.m. - 2007-04-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08