Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

oh the fatigue

OMG. What a day.

It was the kind of day in which one feels as though one is on a roller coaster.

Actually, one feels as though one is barely strapped in and on a roller coaster, or dangling from a ferris wheel by one's scarf, as it spins and spins.

OK. Weak imagery. But you get my point.

The first order of business was receiving the second job offer and declining it. The man offering it was absolutely superb! I do hope he is single as we will be neighbours at my new department. : D

Otherwise, and please excuse the levity above in light of this, a colleague's young daughter is seriously ill in hospital and about to undergo surgery. I spent this evening buying books and a teddy bear for her and for her younger brother. I bought The Runaway Bunny and Charlotte's Web. I couldn't help myself. I suspect that they will be reading to them.

I raced back from the mall after making these purchases, to meet B. B. is behaving strangely. He offered to drive me to a suburb to assist me in buying a digital camera--finally--for my trip. He was very helpful. I just wish that he would tell me at some point if he is indeed interested in me. He never lets it slip. I wonder sometimes if he is afraid of me. There's a skeleton or something there and I want. to. find. it. out.

So the weirdest, strangest, most annoying thing happened...We arrived at the camera store and no sooner had we entered the store than the power went out. And I'm not referring to the power in the store. I am referring to the power in the entire QUARTIER. I mean, gonzo.

We then stood and discussed cameras in the dark with a very knowledgeable salesgirl, with me all the while patently aware that I would not be able to make a purchase since their equipment--and, oddly, their phone--was all unusable. (Don't we miss the days of simply taking a credit card imprint?)

So B. and I spent two hours traveling to and from and within the camera store and I left without a camera.

Quite annoying. I will have to go elsewhere tomorrow to buy the camera. (We've decided that in spite of a marginal price advantage in the U.S., warranty and customs issues make it better and simpler to buy here.)

ARGH. I'm weary. And although I don't know the colleague well I am very concerned for his little daughter. But I can do nothing.

So another very interesting :) day in the life of me has now ended. Tomorrow night will be spent packing as minimally as possible in order to maximize the enjoyment that I will get out of NYC. Who cares if I will stink the whole time. :) Although my friend and his girlfriend have arranged a little party for us on Saturday night and so I will have to at least pretend to put on a pretty face...and I was hoping to avoid taking a skirt and heels. The weather, unfortunately, is going to be unaccomodating...

|

10:37 p.m. - 2007-04-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08