Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Last week I walked to the bus in a windchill of -40. Today I walked with my coat open on melting snow, in temperatures well above zero. Go figure.

This is going to be a very brief entry.

Something came up with the job offer today that has to be firmed up, so hopefully all will go well tomorrow...and the next day...and the next day...

I'm going to avoid thinking about it as much as possible, at least until the offer letter arrives. So, my brain is wiped clean. I will write about the job fully once I know that it is all mine. :)

Now that I am here, I hesitate to cut this off so abruptly.

Not much else is new though. I've been working hard on this project that will never end. I sent a 70 or so page doc of tabled and graphed results to my co-author a couple of days ago. I suspect it will take him a week or two to go through. I have another project to work on, of course. The days just tick by with me sitting in my little office, realizing every four or so hours that I should probably get up from my hunched position over the keyboard and perhaps use the bathroom. And then at six they turn the lights off and I realize that perhaps I should consider going home (else get slapped by the security guards or work in the dark and hide from them, neither or which is a very effective life plan).

If I sound like a sad sack single it is because...I am!

I sneak into the wheelchair access bathroom--also to avoid the patrolling guards--and change into my running gear. By about 6:20 I depart the building. By 7 I am home, usually with a new loaf of bread from the bakery under one arm. Today I ran home with dangling quartz earring still on. It's no wonder that the guy at the bakery gives me funny looks; although, to be fair, he seems to be getting used to me.

I'm weary. I feel as though saying little and thinking even less is the best strategy to use to coast through this week.

That guy with whom I went out twice last week--quite successfully--seems to be rather insecure as he seems to have interpreted my desire to not walk in the woods this weekend--in spite of my best efforts to explain myself--as a blow-off. What can you do? I really didn't do anything wrong and if he is so sensitive and fearful I can't imagine that he is prepared to develop a relationship.

In other, more RIDICULOUS news, I will tell you that the ex-boyfriend emailed me AGAIN yesterday. I seriously thought that I had managed to rid myself of him forever, albeit kindly.

(If you think that I am starting to think that my kind and generous approach to breakups is rather ill-advised, you'd be correct.)

This time the email said things to the effect that he thinks I'm awesome and that he misses my company and would like to have coffee with me sometime.

I mean, seriously, the next email is going to be LEAVE ME ALONE!!!

This must be the longest breakup initiated by a man with a breakup email. I mean, it's the email dumping that never ends...

It's just not healthy for me. That's what it is. But of course he misses my company! I'm fabulous company!

Sometimes.

Or at least I will be once I have that job offer firmly in my little hands.

Sigh. Tired. I think it's time for dinner and a glass of wine. Although I'm a little bit high on the Sinut@b that I took earlier so that is probably ill-advised.

I have one hour remaining in the BBC P&P to watch. :)


|

8:15 p.m. - 2007-03-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08