Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sleet and employment--drudgery, all

There are times when you need to just zip your mouth. I'm having trouble sitting on a few observations right now.

Cryptic, I know. Just expressing myself.

Had a long conversation with that guy last night; can't wait to see him Sunday night.

So I haven't heard definitively from the boss, but from someone else I heard that he has figured out how--through the crazy contracting process of the government--to extend me until the end of April, which buys more time until the permanent job competition arises.

This works for me, since then I can definitely get my projects done and I can also continue interviewing for other positions. I have twelve interview requests for January so far, although only a couple of them have yet been finalized. Things are ticking along reasonably well on that front, so I am going to stay positive. I should have clearer perspective by next week.

Today is a gross weather day in Ottawa. Ottawa in general is a gross weather town, but today it outdid itself: freezing rain, sleet, snow, you name it. I'm an idiot and rode my bike home in it. If ever you want to increase the likelihood of being killed as you go about your business to about 800,000 times the likelihood that you will be killed by an act of terrorism, or even a plane crash, making that commuting decision is probably it. And I was...get this..wearing high heeled boots with improper soles at the time. Sure, as my friend A. tells me when I arrive at work in my bike tights, fluffy parka and high-heeled boots I look "runway hot," ;-) but gee....assinine. (I really started wearing the boots since I didn't want to have to stuff them in my backpack given that there is not much room in it with my papers and my lunch and my clothes already inside.) The thing is that the heels are not the problem (they catch on the pedals). The soles are the problem. And going up hill and getting restarted after stopping at streetlights tonight was...hell.

I can actually thank Canada Post for this, in any event, since they misdelivered the package containing my winter boots shipped recently by my mother. If you knew how ironic this situation for me is currently you would laugh yourself silly. So I called them to complain--sat through the inordinately long window of elevator music until I got an agent--and was served so well (honestly) that my irritation has been completely defused. Apparently they are going to redeliver the package to an outlet closer to me.

I had to peel my frozen, curled up fingers off my handlebars when I finally made it home.

And oh my poor toes are cold and wet.

So it's time to switch to my little, big-tired, easy-to-control bicycle from my current speedster. Or it might just be time to buy a bus pass (ew--coughing people).

I'm just being silly. (I always forget here that people don't know me and so don't undestand that most of what I say is said with a wink.) C. is due to arrive shortly and I must run out first to the mall to run some errands so...cheerio.

|

6:24 p.m. - 2006-12-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08