Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My life as it is usually lived.

All I ever need to feel that I'm OK is sleep. I slept long and luxuriantly in my comfy bed with its beautiful linens and puffy pillows. My bed is under a deeply angled ceiling, and I have little star-like track lights that extend from it to the big sun-like semi-circle dormer window.

Never mind that the sun hasn't chosen to shine much--or at all-- since I moved to Ottawa two months ago. Forget, too, that it is actually snowing at the moment. (Snow is not permitted before Hallowe'en, dammit!)

So I put on my new black trouser-y pants this morning, that hug my ass just so and show off my lovely legs, and a fitted green deep v-neck cashmere sweater. What's the verdict on jewel-toned green with black? Tacky or not? For some reason I think it looks good. I need deep tones on days so gloomy and dark that one imagines the day has not yet begun. I also think I need saturated tones to balance my unfortunately pale and yellow-toned complexion.

The clocks go back tonight. It will be pitch black as I ride my bike home from work.

And you know that I am going to ride my bike to work, even in the snow. It's only four miles and if I leave early enough my mountain bike tires should safely get me through the drifts. I hope. :) Spending $75 a month on a bus pass and, far more importantly, standing in line for several hours to get one each month at the OCTransp0 office closest to me does not appeal at all. I don't have time to waste in my life. And waiting at a bus stop in -30? Meh.

I'm now certifiably a glutton. I have almost finished eating my good 400g bar of milk chocolate with hazelnuts that I purchased on Thursday. I haven't eaten chocolate in a while. The indulgence felt good. The issue--and benefit--is that I don't live particularly close to a supermarket. I stop there on my way home from work and stick to the essentials. I mean, perhaps chocolate can be declared essential, but I haven't perceived it to be so of late. So that's keeping my waistline trim as I sit around in relative sloth. I just don't have the desire to run myself into the ground at the moment.

OH I'm rambling. I must go outside to get the paper. The Saturday paper, as we all know, is one of my favourite rituals. I also bought a book on infinity at the secondhand bookstore with the scientist two Sundays ago, which is beckoning to me from the bookshelf. (Better to read a history of infinity than of zero, I tell myself...and each exists. :))

Cheerio from my dull little corner of the world, under eaves of a gingerbreaded house in the green reaches by the canal, in our quaint little Dominion.

Just a thought: I'm going to declare today "luxury day" in my wee dominion. I'm supposed to go on a coffee date but I think I'm going to cancel (a bad habit).

|

11:06 a.m. - 2006-10-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08