Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Not so confused any longer-- I AM STRONG.

I think I just ruined my puffy down coat. I washed it according to instructions and it is no longer puffy.

Poof!

Now I have three beautiful wool winter coats of varying lengths and degrees of formality, but a down parka is truly essential if I am going to continue riding my bike to work through the winter (yes, I am a bit nuts, but I consider this preferable to waiting for the bus in -30 C weather).

Anyhow. So it seems I have an excuse to buy a new parka!

Somehow I'd rather spend my money on something pretty...like lingerie :), but Ottawa is colder than a witch's tit (something bigger than that, in fact...both tits, or maybe both tits AND a witch's ass, too).

Anyhow. Ottawa is the coldest place I have ever lived. Even Montreal, two hours north, for some reason feels warm by comparison. Tough to understand. I think it has something to do with winds whipping through the valley and the levels of humidity and therefore precipitation.

So I don't have much to say today except that I am feeling slightly better about my job following words of praise for my work from both my boss and my Vancouver co-author. I knew that I was working hard and doing good work but it feels good to hear it from the important quarters. So whatever happens I have received validation that I am not nuts; rather, I am good!

One quick slash-and-burn remark about dating sites. I went on craigslist out of curiosity tonight and only the dregs were there. It really hasn't yet picked up steam in this town. I'm not actually intending to date for a while--and in fact I think I'm going to go back to traditional means of meeting people--but I'd like to mention one thing that purturbs me about the profiles of men. Nearly all of them state that they want to find someone attractive or beautiful, even if they themselves are objectively unattractive. I mean, points for stupidity. It just can't help you to write this; in fact it shows a distinct inability to use subterfuge to get what you want. It's about as blunt an instrument you can use to make yourself seem indistinct and unimaginative as is stating that your idea of a great date is "cuddling by a roaring fire," or "fine dining over a bottle of red."

But I thank them for making the deletion process so quick and painless for me. :)

Hmm...

I'm sounding more and more like a tough cookie.

I'm not so tough. I'm really quite sweet.

I'm settling into the pursuit of interesting friendships instead of dating relationships. The scientist is great and we are going to meet next week to do the bookcrossing thing. We've decided on a list of books. I find him unpretentious and pleasant to be around. But nothing more than that.

And I'm going to go to the food bank tomorrow. I heard about another charity on the radio today, however, and if they'll take me in spite of my intentional carlessness I will jump on it. They collect and move donated furniture of a high quality to construct pleasant apartment settings for new immigrants. I like the idea of welcoming new people to Canada with the materials to start them on a path to a better life. This morning they brought an apartment full of stuff to a woman from the Congo who had been living with her baby in an apartment containing only a matress and a crib. I'll admit that I shed a few tears as I put on my mascara. The bleary-eyed half-mascara-ed look certainly must be in fashion somewhere.

Time for tea and a sit in my armchair, on the perpetual work merry-go-round that is my life.

Oh! Before I go! I must say that in my current research--which effectively involves children and their economic and family situations and the role that these have on their development--I am so impressed with little girls. Little girls are so tough compared with little boys! It makes one believe that men spend their lives beating women down in response to their natural superiority. :)

I'm joking, of course. A beautiful thing, little girls. Teenaged girls, I am not so sure.

|

10:28 p.m. - 2006-10-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08