Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the scientist is tempting me with poetry, believe it or not

Oh sweet J-sus men are annoying.

I won't explain why I said that. Just think of it as a necessary exhalation of irritation.

Women remain more pernicious, however. I try not to chat much with my coworkers, particularly the few female ones. Two of them were gossiping in the office next to mine today, which is something in which I like to completely avoid engaging. I tend to tell people things on a need-to-know basis, and try not to encourage them to provide me with substantial personal details about themselves.

I am much friendlier outside of the office.

I'm not actually unfriendly IN the office, either. But I think it's best to keep a professional distance. And I loathe chitchatting when I'd rather be working.

I AM a workaholic!

I handed in my big paper this morning. It felt good to unload the tome. Now I must nervously await comments from my boss through the week. Still, it's mostly done I believe.

My new project is going to be a struggle. I spent all day writing code for statistical programs and cleaning the data and I did not get very far. Part of the problem is that I am endlessly fascinated with data. I can't help but examine every variable with a fine-toothed comb--which I know is the best thing to do, but more careful than one really has time to be, and in part why my Ph.D. supervisor resented me. Data is cool, but the panel that I am using has a very complex design and I am already running into puzzling skip patterns. The codebooks for each wave of the panel are each 1200 pages in length. Oyoyoyoy.

So that was my day--staring at little itty bits of data. That is it was until 5:30, at which time I left the building to discover that what I stupidly thought was mist from the 2-th floor was actually thick, cold rain. I proceeded to bike home and be soaked to the bone, in spite of wearing my down parka. Sigh. I will undoubtedly be having sinus trouble by tomorrow morning.

That's all for now.

|

8:58 p.m. - 2006-10-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08