Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I need a dog. A dog would have refused to run any further. I knew a dog once who would only run half way up the hill when we ran hill repeats, knowing that we would be coming back down. The things you can learn from a dog. :)

I've been inspired by teranika to write about the physician supply problem in Canada, since I have a general interest in health economics, but I am incredibly brain and bone weary at the moment from my first back-at-it two hour run out along the river this afternoon. Only I would undertake such a run in gale force winds, and attempt to maintain pace all the while.

I have never before felt so old, weary, and creaky.

The health care piece/musings will have to wait until later this week.

So I will very briefly mention something of which I've been thinking: matching algorithms. A very famous matching algorithm is used to match, for example, medical students to residencies. It's a simple thing, really. Economists have applied the thing to analyse marriage markets, so this is hardly a novel idea, but the online dating experience that I have had of late has helped me to see the perfection of this thing in the market for dates. For you know, everything is a market and all those little foibles of human beings that amount to heterogeneity can either be controlled for or are not sufficiently significant to alter outcomes. :)

Anyhow. Gosh I'm tired and useless. After my run I showered, dressed, and almost made it out the door to shop, etc. My legs felt about to collapse under me so instead I am listening to R3x Murphy. I loathe RM. I think he is a pox upon national radio, as are about half of the people who call in to express their opinions to the nation. I don't think I can make it as far as the radio to turn it off; if I'm lucky I'll make it to the armchair, lay my head down, and sleep through the last hour of the program.

Just kidding. :) I am, however, unconvinced that I have the energy to go out food shopping, so I'm turning over in my head the ingredients that I have in the house with which I can make something edible. I have a 10kg bag of flour and I believe I picked up some yeast so I can bake some bread. I think I have a little bit of Stilton. I definitely have some black beans, some corn, leeks, carrots...no clue. Perhaps some corn chowder and fresh bread. Not the most balanced of meals but it rather appeals. If I can drag my weary hips and prop them up against the counter in the kitchen, I might be able to construct some of it.


|

4:48 p.m. - 2006-09-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08