Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm trying not to think of death.

So a girl I knew died in a car accident yesterday. She was the best runner in this country. She was only 25. How's that for a way to wake up this morning?

But it put things in perspective for me. I was lying in bed at the time, having awakened with my anxiety insomnia a couple of hours beforehand. After I heard the news--apart from not believing it until I could find something on Radio-Canada--it made me sit bolt upright and say to myself, "Hey, loser! Wake up and smell life. You have a job."

So, anyhow. I really am too hard on myself. (You know you are too hard on yourself when on your first day on the job your new boss says that he senses that in you.)

The preceding reminds me of something. One of the funniest things that has ever happened to me in the public service happened when a boss at Foreign Affairs--and a very senior executive at that--pulled me into his office to say, "You know, you have an over-developed sense of responsibility."

Our tax dollars in action.

Speaking of dollars, I spent $ today. Only not so many and I think judiciously. I went shopping with a friend who now works in environmental policy but who at one point completed a diploma in fashion design. Anyhow. She's been asking to dress me for quite some time, and I've discovered that this is good thing. When she put things on me I felt snazzy rather than drab. I mean, I'm a classy dresser as a rule. But it's nice to have someone with an eye suggest out-of-the-ordinary things, particularly when this person understands fit. It was great fun. I also got a pair of nice boots on sale for $36--$36!!. And the best part is that I had thought they were more and the final price was delivered only when I was at the cash. Don't you love it when that happens???

OK. So enough for my trivialities. I'm going to finally read the Saturday paper now. First, however, I will mix up and knead some pizza dough. And then I am going to crack open my Moosewood and see what delight(s) I can whip up for my lunch tomorrow.

|

7:01 p.m. - 2006-09-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08