Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

liver damage

I've just discovered that the police of this little town are going to commence a two-week "crackdown" on rogue cyclists, starting Monday, and I don't possess a bell.

When you see the published fine structure and also realize that the police in this town don't have much else to do with their time, you will see why I feel an urgent need to ride out to the cycle shop to purchase a noise-making instrument:

- Biking on sidewalk: $135
- Running a red light: $180
- Not wearing child safety helmet: $85
- Lack of proper lighting: $35
- Improper brakes: $110
- No horn or bell: $110
- Cycling the wrong way on a one-way street: $110.
- Ignoring railroad crossing restrictions: $110
- Riding in a crosswalk: $110

I am unfortunately too hungover today to find much amusement in the prospect of watching the police going around "nabbing" offenders on the lazy streets of this village. I managed to find such amusement when they decided to clamp the big foot of the law down on jay walkers and people drinking beers just an inch or two out of the perimeters of licenced areas. Oh Ontario, you never do change. But let it never be said that you don't know a) how to put a big 'ol Protestant damper on our joie de vivre; b) tax-grab.

I am getting old. I know this as my hangover was induced by the consumption of exactly two and a half pints of beer.

In other news, the seniors are still lovely and ragtime is perfectly rousing. When I hear ragtime piano, it always makes me think of the way that my grandmother veritably danced when she played.

OK. Off to purchase a horn, I am.

|

3:29 p.m. - 2006-06-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08