Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

sports doc god

AHHHH. I just returned from a visit to the GOD of all sports doctors.

It was great.

When he first came in I thought, "Oh no, this guy looks like he doesn't want to be here." He had a limp handshake, too.

The thing though about wee guys in ugly golf shirts and matching ugly pants who are heads of sports medicine at large, expensive clinics (and heads of athletics at large universities at the same time) by the the age of forty is that they tend to know their shit. I mean really, really know their stuff.

When you go to a sports doctor in essence you are going to a kind of a mechanic. And the kind of mechanic that you want is not the kind that chats you up but the kind that has been nothing but serious and problem-solving since he was in diapers. And that was exactly what he was like. I was in able hands. Yeah baby.

Actually, the funny part of it was that when we got to talking, he and I, it occurred to me that he reminded me of A. Again, I think this is a good thing as when I think of A. I think competence, competence, competence.

I also think deeply buried sense of humour and sexual limp biscuit, but I digress.

Well that was my tomfoolery for today. I was amazingly productive at school, had a great chat with a professor of mine whom I ran into at the science library, and did one of those weird things I am known to do: read random articles in scientific journals, just for interest. Today's article was one about insect physiology. My uncle is a professor of entomology at a uni here and I've never read any of his articles. It occurred to me that I might do that today.

After the library visit, the work completed and the brief chat, I proceeded to bike to the market and stock up on cheese. I've decided that if I'm going to put on some weight as I let my hip injury recover--and very lazily do not bother to cross-train in the pool, much--that I am at least going to grow my boobs in the process. (Believe it or not, when I put on fat the first place it goes is to my boobs. It also goes to my butt and hips, but the boobs thing is more noticeable.)

Having said that, I am 100% sure that I am going to rehabilitate this thing and that I am going to come back stronger than ever. I am going to fulfil my promise as an athlete if it kills me. I guess I had to go through all of the stuff that I've gone through in the last few years to know that this matters to me. It really matters. The sports doc was also impressed with my strength, balance, and limited injury history given the volume of training that I do, so everything flipped in my head and I started to think of it as a blip. I'm lucky. I can do something that I love and only occasionally does something bad happen as a result of it. Nothing worth having comes without effort, if not struggle. Watch for me in Beijing :).

|

5:42 p.m. - 2006-05-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08